Guest Feedback

What our guests say about us.

Review Person Quote Icon

Unforgettable experience to paradise

There aren't enough words to describe how amazing every part of this place is. The setting, the staff, the beach, the food, the people, and, of course, the chimps, were all incredible. We were lucky enough to visit with only one other guest so our family truly felt like we were staying with family friends. Fabio and Barbara could not have been better hosts and Butati absolutely made this and unforgettable experience for our 13 and 16 year old girls. 

We spent 3 days exploring in the forests, learning about and watching the M family of chimps. We learned an incredible amount about their family structure, their habits and personalities. When we "met" them, it was easy to learn who was who by their looks and actions. Butati and the trekkers, along with Raymond, the park ranger, all ensured a safe and memorable trek both times we went.
When not in the forest, we enjoyed an extremely relaxing couple of days on the shore of the most beautiful lake I have ever seen. We played games, watched the local wildlife (in particular, we loved Juliette the resident warthog), went for boat rides and swims in the lake and spent hours talking with the staff.
Our hearts will be forever changed because of our experience in the local village of Katumbi at the end of our visit. The most warm, welcoming people live in this remote place at what feels like the end of the earth. Their generosity of spirit in the face of much adversity (most importantly, lack of running water and limited educational and medical options) is a reminder of how fortunate we are to live as we do. We feel so lucky to have had this time in Mahale.

TripAdvisor, April 2018

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

Unique and spectacular

Spent 3 nights here with my husband and two teenage girls. The staff could not have been more friendly, welcoming and helpful. Dixon and Ben were incredible hosts. And Lisingo was generous to share his Masai village and culture with our family during our stay. The "tents" are fantastic-they have every comfort you could want even though you are "camping. And the views cannot be beat. There is nothing like a sunrise over the crater! We enjoyed our game drive, culture walk, and my daughter loved cooking in the kitchen! Thank you all for an incredibly memorable visit.

TripAdvisor, March 2018

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

When I dream of Africa…I dream of Lamai Serengeti

The adjective “magical” comes to mind over and over again when attempting to describe glorious Nomad Lamai. Our daughter and son-in-law stayed here a year ago and implored us to visit Lamai—‘if you go to one place, it has to be Lamai…just plan your trip around it’ and ‘it is the best place in the world’—and they were right (they were so right they decided to return again this year when we visited—and we do get it now, yearning to go back).

Nomad’s motto is “Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Wildlife” and it sums up their Tanzanian properties/experiences to a tee: they hire the best managers, guides, chefs, staff and are situated in the most beautiful and unique settings (we also stayed at Nomad Mahale, which was sublime, too). We can’t thank our guide Lazaro and Nomad enough for this trip of a lifetime. And, yes I cried, and my daughter wept as our plane took off. 

Lamai Private, March 2018

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

The garden of Eden: fabulous, gorgeous, stunning!

If there is one place on earth where I could lose my soul, it’s this one. We thought by moments that we were in the garden of Eden. What a beautiful and diversified nature. Almost no tourists as well which is, after Serengeti, very enjoyable. The presence of the Ruaha river makes the whole place even more magic with lots of beautiful birds, hippos and hundreds of elephants. Apparently even 10% of the african lion population lives here. The Kigelia Ruaha camp is set up in the spirit ‘back to the basic’ but in a very pleasant way. As with all Nomad camps, this is an intimate set up with just 7 tents. run by very nice staff and the manager who does a great job. We did a walking safari as well, glad to strectch the legs. For us, Ruaha was the absolute highlight in our trip because of the diversity of landscape and the presence of the Ruaha river. 

Anon, February 2018

Kigelia Ruaha

Review Person Quote Icon

Don’t miss this one

Kuro Tarangire was our first safari stop right in the middle of Tarangire National Park, very remoted and is a fab location. Our tent was just fabulous with inside and outside (bucket) showers. This camp has an incredible and intimate ambiance. The wildlife watching was of ‘high standard’ too. We were lucky to watch the cheetah and leopards, lots of elephants and buffalos but not to forget the mongoose, foxes, baboons etc etc. All made for a very exciting night safari. I want to thank the whole team of Kuro Tarangire and their manager for the warm and enthousiastic way of running this camp.

Kreft, February 2018

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Truely remote paradise!

Greystorke Mahale is perhaps the most beautiful place i've ever been! I've stayed at several of Nomad Tanzania properties (all which were incredible) but this was by far their crown jewel.

If you like being in very remote places, where your closest neighbors are literally a group of Chimpanzee....you love it here too!

I spent a whole 7 nights here. Most take the 3 or 4 night option as that's how small plane flights work out. It combines well with a traditional safari camp called Chada Katavi. It's a long journey across Tanzania by plane and then boat to get here but completely worth it. You are met by a very charming host, taking care of every guest's needs. The chalets are simple but not without comfort or rustic luxury. All have stunning views of the lake that look across onto the Congo. The sunsets are ridiculously beautiful here and especially from the bar area.

Naturally the best part of Mahale are the Chimpanzees. I went in November, the slight off season. It did rain quite a bit but with todays weather patterns you really never know. It didn't stop us from trekking up the mountain and having the most personal and close up experiences with a the M group Chimps. I was left speechless! My guide Butati has now turned into a lifelong friend and made this visit beyond special. His knowledge and pure love for these animals enhanced the whole experience. The whole staff were just terrific. There is no place like this. Remote, beautiful and authentic.


I loved every minute in Mahale and hope somehow I can make it back again soon! Thank you Greystoke and Nomad Tanzania

Rebecca, February 2018

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

If you want the trip you never forget, this is the one!

We stayed for 4 nights with Nomad's Serengeti Safari Camp in mid-Jan ( the quiet season). This was only one of our stops out of 5 countries but was the best and most memorable by far. The team and the philosophy of the camp manager meant that they always exceeded your expectation with the friendly, helpful and professional team. The accommodation was very luxurious from the big comfortable beds to the bucket showers (better than most hotels). We will be back. 

Kim, Serengeti Safari Camp, January 2018

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

This was a dream come true for all of us

My mom especially, as she has idolized Jane Goodall her entire life. We loved it. We LOVE the new managers, and it is truly, truly paradise because of the chimps, the stunning setting, outstanding food and impeccable decor - and again, first and foremost, because of the people who work there. Greystoke is just spectacular, there is nowhere else on earth like it. It looked like we were living inside of a magazine spread, and felt like we were the luckiest people alive to be there. I think the fact that the managers have no background in hospitality, they just loved visiting Greystoke as guests themselves so much that they left their jobs and lives in Germany to come live there and manage it, speaks to how special a place it is. (And for having no experience in the hospitality industry, they were some of the greatest managers we've ever had the pleasure of staying with, Nomad is lucky to have them. They fit within the Nomad brand and raised the bar for Nomad properties! And Lamai is a tough act to follow! We just adored them.) We also felt like the luckiest guests in the world to have Mwiga as our guide, who had worked at Greystoke for over 2 decades (24 years I think?), and whose uncle had originally helped habituate the chimps. He was beyond knowledgeable, hilarious and kind. And told the greatest stories!

Cavalero, January 2018

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

Most Magical Place

This is the most magical place I’ve ever been - from the actual landscape to Mkombe’s House itself - far surpassed expectations. The home is STUNNING and the staff were incredible. 

Stephanie , December 2017

Mkombe’s House Lamai

Review Person Quote Icon

Pinch me

The food was BEYOND excellent. The presentation fantastic.. the team so cheerful, helpful, sweet, ready to help and engage with us. Every moment there we pinched ourselves because everything, every detail was beautiful. 

John,, December 2017

Mkombe’s House Lamai

Review Person Quote Icon

Don’t Think I Could Have Asked for More

I spent 3 nights at Lamai and I could not have asked for a more breathtaking view, wonderful and attentive staff, delicious food, and an outstanding guide. The rooms and the view were beyond imagination; the facility blended in with the Serengeti yet offered exceptional service one would expect in any major city five-star hotel. I saw the big 5, the migration, animals traversing across the Mara River, and more! As a sole female traveler Nomad Tanzania proved me a safe, comfortable, caring safari. When I return I know where I will be staying; I cannot imagine anything coming close to what I found at Lamai Serengeti.

Joanne, December 2017

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

A fabulous experience in a beautiful lodge… top-notch service

Such a beautiful location overlooking the river, four days full of activities. Our thanks to our fabulous guide Hamadi, so willing to share his knowledge of the bush. Fly camping is an amazing experience as is the bush walk, local game drives and boat trips. The food is very good, featuring some local dishes and plenty of salads and pastries, all made on site. Bush breakfasts are a bonus to start the day. The entire team are very friendly, helpful and professional. Michelle, the manager, adds a very homely family feel to the place and is always at the ready to make your stay even better. I highly recommend it as a place to stay in Selous.

Anna, December 2017

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Their passion, interpretation, kindness, and patience are some of the best I have seen in Africa.

I would just like to firstly thank all of you for the experience at Greystoke Mahale, there is much hype about this little piece of paradise and I am happy to say that far and away overachieves on this hype. I would have to say that is is undoubtedly one of the most special places I have ever had the privilege to visit...The style, atmosphere, staff, food, guiding are phenomenal and credit needs to go to everyone involved. It was a real pleasure meeting Julian, Fabio and Barbara they all seem to one in million property managers, that are a rare find in the industry. Mwiga & Mattheus were exceptional and having a very keen eye for the complexities and subtleties of guiding I have to say that these two gentlemen are a phenomenal asset. Their passion, interpretation, kindness, and patience are some of the best I have seen in Africa.

Connelly, November 2017

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

Stunning, intimate safari camp

Absolutely top quality hospitality in Tarangire. The staff were excellent. Knowledgeable and experienced guides; caring and capable camp manager with a wonderful team; excellent food. Stunning wildlife. Could not have asked for more.

Kathleen, November 2017

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

A Special Camp

Such a special camp - we loved the camp staff, food, service, guide and game! Ken is a wonderful host and it reflects throughout his camp. I'm so happy to finally experience the magic of Ruaha.

Emily, November 2017

Kigelia Ruaha

Review Person Quote Icon

Trip of a lifetime

This camp treated us like royalty. Mosa and best camp manager Lawrence ensured we were exposed to incredible food, incredible game drives, incredible tents and comfortable beds. They thought and anticipated everything. I will hold Tanzania, its animals and its people in my heart forever. Asante sana Africa. 

Serengeti Safari Camp, October 2017

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

The best and most exclusive safari in the Selous

Kiba Point is a wonderful place and an incredible luxury experience in an already private and little visited Selous NP. If you think you’ve ‘been there / done that’ check yourself! All Nomad Tanzania camps (and I’ve loved all 5 I’ve tried and I’m on a mission to complete ‘the set’) really do live up to the company’s motto: ‘life, love and the pursuit of wilderness’. All in all though Kiba is the best / my favourite - it’s truly wonderful.

Kiba Point, October 2017

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

The best and most exclusive safari in the Selous

Kiba Point is a wonderful place and an incredible luxury experience in an already private and little visited Selous NP. If you think you’ve ‘been there / done that’ check yourself! All Nomad Tanzania camps (and I’ve loved all 5 I’ve tried and I’m on a mission to complete ‘the set’) really do live up to the company’s motto: ‘life, love and the pursuit of wilderness’. All in all though Kiba is the best / my favourite - it’s truly wonderful.

Kiba Point, October 2017

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Secluded Perfection

We had the pleasure of staying at Entamanu just a few weeks ago. It was truly breathtaking! The rooms are amazing! There is not one detail they didnt think of; total luxury. Ben, the camp manager, was great- he was very informative and joined us for a few meals which made the trip even more special. His crew at the camp were extremely friendly, patient and attentive. The rooms themselves are complete luxury- showers, toilets, sinks, the most comfortable beds with hot water bottles tucked inside, the view out into the crater.... all of it! and with coffee delivered with your morning wake-up call grin It is a very magical place up at the top of the crater and they do an incredible job making sure you experience it all. We were able to go on a couple safari walks around the camp area and see giraffes up close in the wild. The walks are guided by a local Maasai and a ranger, and they tell you about all the plants and animals along the way. Another very special moment is visiting a local Maasai village and learning more about their culture firsthand. At the end of the excursions we were greeted with a surprise bar set up for us to watch the sunset from different points around camp. This is a very special place and I would highly recommend staying at Entamanu to experience the Ngorongoro crater!

Entamanu, September 2017

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

Intimately Authentic

It was an intimate safari experience with a vast beautiful park at our disposal. The camp is run with charming attentive care by manager Ken and his team. Here, you set the pace with your guide. We chose early morning game drives with bush breakfasts. We had excellent elephant sightings and saw a cheetah mother with four cubs. Super bird watching with a good sighting of a new bird for me, the white crowned plover. The open sided vehicles are very well designed providing comfort with unobstructed game viewing. We also opted for a walking safari with our guide Elisante and two armed rangers and also a night drive. Both were very enjoyable. The camp tents are stylish, spacious, but not overdone. The big beds are very comfortable. Gauze walls give a wonderful inside/outside feel. We enjoyed the hot bucket showers under the open sky that were available any time on request. We loved mealtimes in the mess, sun-downers and then sitting around the campfire with a good gin. We also loved early morning tea on our veranda listening the growing dawn chorus. Ruaha is described as 'Africa as it used to be', Kigelia camp lives up to this reputation.

Carl, September 2017

Kigelia Ruaha

Load more