Guest Feedback

What our guests say about us.

Review Person Quote Icon

Hands down the BEST camp during our entire safari!

We stayed at Serengeti Safari Camp and it was absolutely amazing! We stayed at 4 different camps during our 12 day safari and this was absolutely the best one out of them all. My husband and I are 5 star hotel type seasoned travellers (think Four Seasons in Bora Bora and the Penisula in both Bangkok and NY) and after receiving excellent service at those hotels, my husband remarked that the service he received at the Serengeti Safari camp was the best service he had ever received in his life!! Kudos to the staff. They were simply outstanding and the food was AMAZING. I am not sure how they do it being that this is a mobile camp and all but the food was better than a lot of the thriving restaurants in NY. I will definitely spread the word to my friends and colleagues about this place.

Serengeti Safari Camp, August 2017

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

Truly magical!

Entamanu Ngorongoro is one of the most impressive places we've ever stayed! The stylish super luxury tents, the unforgettable spectacular view, the warm fireplace, all so wonderful. What really stood out for us the most, was the way manager Ben and his staff made us feel totally at home. We never met such an outstanding team totally committed to this magical place they created. Thanks for an experience our family of 5 ( kids 11,13 and 15) will never ever forget.

Denise and family, August 2017

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

What makes this camp so special is the staff.

As of June 2017, this tented camp went from being mobile to becoming permanent. What makes this camp so special is the staff. Mollel and his team went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable. The location allows you to come almost face to face with all the wildlife in the area. Elephants walked in front of our tent each day. The tents include flushing toilets and bucket showers, which are surprisingly efficient and delivered anytime you wish. There is electricity, and wifi is available. The food is incredible! Everything is freshly prepared each day. If you're looking for an authentic experience in Tarangire National Park with a comfortable setting, Kuro Tarangire is the perfect place! Thanks to the camp manager, Mollel and Nathan, our guide, for a wonderful experience.

Erica, July 2017

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

They say this is a once-in-a-lifetime trip, but we hope that’s not the case for us.

We can't really express how great a time we had. The safari was excellent, Nomad's camps were unbelievable and we loved our guide, Festo. We feel really lucky that he was the one showing us around Tanzania and the Serengeti, as he seemed able to spot wildlife from remarkable distances and had encyclopedic knowledge about everything we were seeing. He was also just a really fun and nice man. I hope Nomad realizes how valuable he is to them.

More broadly, the staff at Nomad were really remarkable in their service, and in making us feel at home. Really can't recommend all of them enough — particularly Ben at Camp Etamanu. We also joked when we arrived in Amsterdam that we were on our own because we no longer had Vanessa setting up car rides and hotels for us. Every driver was on time and every hotel went off without a hitch.

They say this is a once-in-a-lifetime trip, but we hope that's not the case for us.

Swanson, June 2017

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

We loved this lodge so much because it was so connected to nature

We fell equally in love with Nomad's Lamai Serengeti. Spectacular...As you know, I was very concerned that this time of year would be too quiet without any animals. And we saw the Big 5 in less than 12 hours. We saw 7 leopards in total, there was a pride of lions that lived within minutes from the lodge, and a tree full of baboons directly below our room. We would regularly see giraffes, zebras and elephants from our room's private deck. I can't imagine there being a place so densely packed with animals, where every game drive you would see different ones, but always SO MANY. And yet, it never felt crowded with cars or touristy.

Our A++ guide Lazaro was amazing. Please tell Nomad he is the best of the best and we love him..we heard from the other guides that he was the legend, and had been doing it for 23 years. 

We were also spoiled by what a spectacular lodge the Lamai Serengeti is...We loved this lodge so much because it was so connected to nature, with each room built into the rocks, no phones, little-to-no internet, and a hike to and from our room...And yet, it was simultaneously so elegant and high-end; the rooms were gorgeously designed, mostly-mesh to give you the full experience of being in the Serengeti, with sweeping views. The food was incredible. And every morning, we were awoken by Daniel softly knocking on our door and sliding our coffee order into a box in our room at whatever wake-up time we had requested the previous night. Each game drive, a stunning, decadent and delicious buffet of a breakfast was set up at one spectacular view or another...And again, it was the people who made it so special - we loved all of the staff who gamely tried to teach us Swahili every time we asked them, we loved our bodyguard Mr. P, and we LOVED Lazaro. We only wish we had spent more nights there, and plan to when we go back. 

Cavalero, June 2017

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Our guide - made the holiday

Just wanted to let you know that we had an absolutely amazing time in Tanzania and Zanzibar - everything was incredible; Felix our guide was brilliant and so easy to get on with - I have to say I think he made the holiday. Everything was so well organised, all the accomodation, food and travelling arrangements were excellent.  The tented camps definitely made us feel a part of the countryside and we have fallen in love with the country as a whole. We would love to return especially if we could have Felix as our guide again.  

nomad tanzania visitor , February 2017

Review Person Quote Icon

All in all a great safari

Difficult to know where to begin but certainly another magical experience! All 3 camps were superb and to end up at Greystoke was as good as any beach holiday with the added bonus of 3 magical days with the chimps. I think the highlight was the chimpanzees, made all the better for having to make an effort to get to see them. ( Makes it more rewarding) . We were amazed at their size and the human traits they exhibited even at one point having a mother bring her baby towards us to clearly show her off!

A mass of wonderful bird life (we are becoming twitchers with all these visits!). Hundreds of Hippos and crocs trying to compete for water in Katavi. Great food in all camps. Great staff / knowledgeable guides / excellent accommodation.

All in all another great safari leaving us wanting more and just as keen to return as soon as we can!

Alyn & Ruth, February 2017

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

I can’t remember us being so sad to leave anywhere as much as when we had to leave Lamai.

I wanted to express sincerest thanks on behalf of my partner Georgina and myself to you and all at Nomad for providing us with the opportunity to return to Tanzania and experience two more of your wonderful camps. We had a fantastic time and were looked after so well by your incomparable staff. Everybody was superb but special thanks to Filbert and Joseph at Serengeti Migration Camp and Baraka, Lawrence (a wonderful man) and Robert at Lamai. It was obvious from talking to your staff how much pride they take in their work and how much they value working for Nomad. This is clearly reflected in the experience they provide for guests. It was lovely to meet a couple of members of staff that we had met last year, it almost felt like meeting old friends again. We have been very fortunate to have travelled a great deal but I can't remember us being so sad to leave anywhere as much as when we had to leave Lamai. There is clearly a huge amount of hard work that goes into providing such a great experience for your guests, we can fully appreciate how much effort that goes on behind the scenes. We hope very much to return to experience Nomad camps again in the future.

Flynn, February 2017

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Nomad hires only the best and is a top notch organization

We just returned from a spectacular trip to Tanzania organized by Nomad.  Everything about this trip was wonderful — the accommodations and the warm and professional staff that worked in our lodgings,  the guides (special thanks to our excellent guides Godwin and Amos),  the sites we visited, the attention to countless details that made the trip effortless and enjoyable, and the friendliness of all the folks we met. Nomad hires only the best and is a top notch organization. The Mkombe House in the Serengeti and the Zawadi Hotel in Zanzibar and the delightful staff that worked in both locales provided an unforgettable experience in comfort and warmth.  Many thanks to Pieter Carst Travel and Nomad for organizing such a special trip.

Levine family, January 2017

Mkombe’s House Lamai

Review Person Quote Icon

Of course, the elephants are spectacular here.

The combination of tranquility in the bush with the luxury of all creature comforts is exquisite. Once again, the staff is unbelievably gracious and attentive. Molell runs a flawless operation. And of course, the elephants are spectacular here. 

Powers, January 2017

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

What an amazing experience!

So differernt to what I expected and so different to our stay in the Serengeti but equally incredible. It was the Nomad staff, especially Jairo and Mollel that made this so extraordinary. The best part was talking with Mollel around the campfire or meals and the biggest highlight of the trip was sharing a meal with the entire staff. Truly unforgettable.  

Legeune, September 2016

Chada Katavi

Review Person Quote Icon

Amazing camp, amazing staff, stunning holiday.

We recently spent 4 glorious days in the secluded wilderness that is the Nomad camp in Katavi as part of our honeymoon. Firstly, we will, from now on, always choose a Nomad camp. The staff, food, accommodation and service are out of this world - we could not have asked for better...Our final night in Katavi will stay with me forever when around 15 elephants wandered quietly through the camp and surrounded our tent (we spent 10 minutes in our outside shower only feet away from wild elephants). One of the most humbling experiences of our lives. 

If you get the chance to go fly-camping - take it. A night under the stars in a simple netted tent, (complete with waiter, chef, guide and park ranger!) was wonderful - a dream for any star-gazers or those wanting to do time-lapse photography.

A wonderful place, a wonderful experience, we will return.

Tim and Steph, August 2016

Chada Katavi

Review Person Quote Icon

You made our stay very special.

What were your best bits? 

Our guide Festo, but all of your staff - their friendliness and professionalism. You made our stay very special. 

How could we improve? 

Nothing! You have a great balance between part of the surroundings and being extremely well looked after. 

Pooles, August 2016

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

This was truly the most amazing family trip.

The food was amazing, and the variety and portions were perfect. Also, Philips expertise, leading us to various animals and sights, finding and explaining various behaviours made our game drives truly spectacular. The House (Mkombe's) is exceptional and ALL of the staff were so thoughtful and attentive. We were taken care of with warmth and incredible attention to detail. This is truly the most amazing family trip and the most beautiful and well staffed place we have ever stayed in, or could ever imagine. Asante Sana! 

Baumgarten Family , July 2016

Mkombe’s House Lamai

Review Person Quote Icon

It was perfect.

Our guide Hamza was the best! The service was the best we have ever had, the staff were so friendly and welcoming. The food was fabulous. It just couldn't have been any better. 

Collins, June 2016

Kiba Point

Review Person Quote Icon

A perfect holiday

Julien is a superb host. Always enjoying and enthusiastic. The location is amazing at Chada Katavi, elephants surrounding our tent one afternoon will never be forgotten. The house staff could not have been more helpful and attentive. 

Steph and Tim, June 2016

Chada Katavi

Review Person Quote Icon

I can’t praise the Ndutu camp and its staff enough

After 35 years of safaris in east and southern Africa I would say that the Nomad camp at Ndutu (Serengeti Safari Camp) ranks with Tau Pan in the Central Kalahari as the best we've visited. The very comfortable tented camp is perfectly situated in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area and you can see the migration when the huge herds of wildebeest, zebra and gazelle stay on the short grass plains with their two month old young.The camp is very well run with welcoming and attentive service, fantastic food, comfortable beds and good bucket showers. We wanted for nothing at the camp with cold drinks, good wines and spirits readily available and generously served. It prepares you perfectly for a fantastic safari. Our guide Paul was amazing - a fount of knowledge on mammals, birds, plants and the environment and also on Maasai customes and relationships with the wildlife. He was a safe and considerate driver - considerate to us the and animals. He never harassed or intruded too far, but always got in the best position for perfect viewing and photography. He skilfully followed a group of hyenas at a respectful distance for over 4 km of rough ground to get to a lion-hyena contest over a dead wildebeest. Paul knew where to look for animals and found us many cheetahs with cubs, lion prides with cubs, big males, hyena clans, huge herds of eland and much, much more. He was happy for us to take our time at sightings and never hurried us. I can't praise him too highly. Nomad, I'm sure, are very proud of you.Thak you Paul, John, Raj and all the staff - and Nomad.

Somerville, June 2016

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

As always, we know that Nomad guides and guiding is simply superb!

he best part of their whole trip was Nomad, and in particular their guide Philip. He was outstanding, friendly, knowledgeable and very patient. Please pass on their supreme thanks and regards to Philip. As always, we know that Nomad guides and guiding is simply superb!

Harman, June 2016

Review Person Quote Icon

A very special place…

The highlights were the walking safari and finding lions no more than 100m away, and the wild dogs on our last evening safari.  

Foster, June 2016

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

We loved it!

Amazing four days! We had a great guide in Festo - the highlight (of many) was watching a cheetah and her cub hunt. 

cooper, June 2016

Serengeti Safari Camp

Load more