Guest Feedback

What our guests say about us.

Review Person Quote Icon

Pinch me

The food was BEYOND excellent. The presentation fantastic.. the team so cheerful, helpful, sweet, ready to help and engage with us. Every moment there we pinched ourselves because everything, every detail was beautiful. 

John,, December 2017

Mkombe’s House Lamai

Review Person Quote Icon

Don’t Think I Could Have Asked for More

I spent 3 nights at Lamai and I could not have asked for a more breathtaking view, wonderful and attentive staff, delicious food, and an outstanding guide. The rooms and the view were beyond imagination; the facility blended in with the Serengeti yet offered exceptional service one would expect in any major city five-star hotel. I saw the big 5, the migration, animals traversing across the Mara River, and more! As a sole female traveler Nomad Tanzania proved me a safe, comfortable, caring safari. When I return I know where I will be staying; I cannot imagine anything coming close to what I found at Lamai Serengeti.

Joanne, December 2017

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

A fabulous experience in a beautiful lodge… top-notch service

Such a beautiful location overlooking the river, four days full of activities. Our thanks to our fabulous guide Hamadi, so willing to share his knowledge of the bush. Fly camping is an amazing experience as is the bush walk, local game drives and boat trips. The food is very good, featuring some local dishes and plenty of salads and pastries, all made on site. Bush breakfasts are a bonus to start the day. The entire team are very friendly, helpful and professional. Michelle, the manager, adds a very homely family feel to the place and is always at the ready to make your stay even better. I highly recommend it as a place to stay in Selous.

Anna, December 2017

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Their passion, interpretation, kindness, and patience are some of the best I have seen in Africa.

I would just like to firstly thank all of you for the experience at Greystoke Mahale, there is much hype about this little piece of paradise and I am happy to say that far and away overachieves on this hype. I would have to say that is is undoubtedly one of the most special places I have ever had the privilege to visit...The style, atmosphere, staff, food, guiding are phenomenal and credit needs to go to everyone involved. It was a real pleasure meeting Julian, Fabio and Barbara they all seem to one in million property managers, that are a rare find in the industry. Mwiga & Mattheus were exceptional and having a very keen eye for the complexities and subtleties of guiding I have to say that these two gentlemen are a phenomenal asset. Their passion, interpretation, kindness, and patience are some of the best I have seen in Africa.

Connelly, November 2017

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

Stunning, intimate safari camp

Absolutely top quality hospitality in Tarangire. The staff were excellent. Knowledgeable and experienced guides; caring and capable camp manager with a wonderful team; excellent food. Stunning wildlife. Could not have asked for more.

Kathleen, November 2017

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

A Special Camp

Such a special camp - we loved the camp staff, food, service, guide and game! Ken is a wonderful host and it reflects throughout his camp. I'm so happy to finally experience the magic of Ruaha.

Emily, November 2017

Kigelia Ruaha

Review Person Quote Icon

Trip of a lifetime

This camp treated us like royalty. Mosa and best camp manager Lawrence ensured we were exposed to incredible food, incredible game drives, incredible tents and comfortable beds. They thought and anticipated everything. I will hold Tanzania, its animals and its people in my heart forever. Asante sana Africa. 

Serengeti Safari Camp, October 2017

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

The best and most exclusive safari in the Selous

Kiba Point is a wonderful place and an incredible luxury experience in an already private and little visited Selous NP. If you think you’ve ‘been there / done that’ check yourself! All Nomad Tanzania camps (and I’ve loved all 5 I’ve tried and I’m on a mission to complete ‘the set’) really do live up to the company’s motto: ‘life, love and the pursuit of wilderness’. All in all though Kiba is the best / my favourite - it’s truly wonderful.

Kiba Point, October 2017

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

The best and most exclusive safari in the Selous

Kiba Point is a wonderful place and an incredible luxury experience in an already private and little visited Selous NP. If you think you’ve ‘been there / done that’ check yourself! All Nomad Tanzania camps (and I’ve loved all 5 I’ve tried and I’m on a mission to complete ‘the set’) really do live up to the company’s motto: ‘life, love and the pursuit of wilderness’. All in all though Kiba is the best / my favourite - it’s truly wonderful.

Kiba Point, October 2017

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Secluded Perfection

We had the pleasure of staying at Entamanu just a few weeks ago. It was truly breathtaking! The rooms are amazing! There is not one detail they didnt think of; total luxury. Ben, the camp manager, was great- he was very informative and joined us for a few meals which made the trip even more special. His crew at the camp were extremely friendly, patient and attentive. The rooms themselves are complete luxury- showers, toilets, sinks, the most comfortable beds with hot water bottles tucked inside, the view out into the crater.... all of it! and with coffee delivered with your morning wake-up call grin It is a very magical place up at the top of the crater and they do an incredible job making sure you experience it all. We were able to go on a couple safari walks around the camp area and see giraffes up close in the wild. The walks are guided by a local Maasai and a ranger, and they tell you about all the plants and animals along the way. Another very special moment is visiting a local Maasai village and learning more about their culture firsthand. At the end of the excursions we were greeted with a surprise bar set up for us to watch the sunset from different points around camp. This is a very special place and I would highly recommend staying at Entamanu to experience the Ngorongoro crater!

Entamanu, September 2017

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

Intimately Authentic

It was an intimate safari experience with a vast beautiful park at our disposal. The camp is run with charming attentive care by manager Ken and his team. Here, you set the pace with your guide. We chose early morning game drives with bush breakfasts. We had excellent elephant sightings and saw a cheetah mother with four cubs. Super bird watching with a good sighting of a new bird for me, the white crowned plover. The open sided vehicles are very well designed providing comfort with unobstructed game viewing. We also opted for a walking safari with our guide Elisante and two armed rangers and also a night drive. Both were very enjoyable. The camp tents are stylish, spacious, but not overdone. The big beds are very comfortable. Gauze walls give a wonderful inside/outside feel. We enjoyed the hot bucket showers under the open sky that were available any time on request. We loved mealtimes in the mess, sun-downers and then sitting around the campfire with a good gin. We also loved early morning tea on our veranda listening the growing dawn chorus. Ruaha is described as 'Africa as it used to be', Kigelia camp lives up to this reputation.

Carl, September 2017

Kigelia Ruaha

Review Person Quote Icon

David Attenbourgh moments!!!

From the moment we stepped off the plane we knew we were in good hands, and were not disappointed. Our host and hostess, Eric and Natasha, were the epitome of graciousness. They were both extremely welcoming and had no problem answering all of our questions. Sand Rivers as a lodge is in a perfect location, with both rooms and the central area overlooking the river, which was always full of hippo, crocodile, a variety of birds, monkeys and so much more. Our room was beautiful, with stunning views of the river. Despite being warned against the monkeys, we never had an issue and couldn't have felt safer. As for our game drive guide, Hamadi, we couldn't have asked for a more personable, knowledgeable or charming man. He was the reason for some of the most amazing sightings (definite David Attenbourgh moments!!), such as when we came across a pack of wild dog hunting for their next meal! We also saw an abundance of Giraffe, Lion, Impala, Zebra, Bush Buck, Water Buck, with not a single boring moment. We would also recommend if you have the time, to take the opportunity to have breakfast down river amongst the hippo and crocodiles, and take the evening to fish. The food was delicious and the choice to sit around one big table with the rest of the guests made the whole experience even more magical. Myself and my Grandmother can't recommend Sand Rivers, or Nomad Tanzania enough.

Sand Rivers Selous, August 2017

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Mkombe’s House was Our House

We arrived about 12 days ago after a short flight from Arusha. Seven of us, enough to fill the four bedrooms very comfortably. Gabu delivered us to Babu and his staff, who were very straight forward in welcoming us "home."
 
And home it was for three wonderful nights. Our room looked out on the plains of the Serengeti, with wildebeests nearby, but not as close as cape buffalo, baboons, and, at night, lions on the prowl. Our patio was huge, above the pool, with lounges perfect for a nap or catching up on our reading. 

Babu's staff, including the twins Husseni and Hassani, were there when we wanted help and invisible at other times. Prior to meals, they appeared and played games with us, taught us about their wonderful oasis and its native inhabitants, and served us appetizers. Then the meals came, perfectly prepared and irresistible. The food was world class, served simply, but elegantly, including a wonderful surprise for Wendy's birthday. 

The accommodations were the equivalent of any five star hotel in LA or NY, but much larger. And they bring the natural luxury of quiet, that is if you consider the wild roars of lions and other animals "quiet." Henry saw the source of those roars pass by his window. 
You cannot get any closer to the incredible Serengeti wildlife than Mkombe's House. Up at 6, in the funny jeep like viewing vehicle, and within seconds, you are saying good morning to zebra, wildebeests, gazelles, elephants, hippos, crocs, lions, cheetahs, leopards, many different avian species, ostriches, hyenas, jackals, . . . shall I go on? The morning is interrupted by breakfast that is wonderful, perhaps enhanced by being outdoors in that wonderful air, but totally enjoyable. Served by Gabu as though serving the seven of us were a "piece of cake." That and more. 
 
 Would we repeat this visit? In a NY Minute.

Mkombe's House, August 2017

Mkombe’s House Lamai

Review Person Quote Icon

Perfection!

Lamai Serengeti is one of the best places I've ever stayed. The pure natural beauty would be enough but couple that with amazing service and stunning decorated rooms, just puts this lodge above the rest. Our suite was the highest on the property which afforded spectacular views right from your bed. Large decks with views for miles. I could go on and on about the bathrooms as well. Fantastic showers offering the same amazing views! Best leopard sightings. The big male out in the open on a termite mound. We would leave early every day with a delicious pack breakfast to explore this great area. You come back around noon for a large lunch spread. A few hours to relax back in your room or take a lap in the pool. Then back out for a evening drive with sundowners. Everything was just perfect! Their unpretentious style and warm service makes Lamai the only place to stay in the area.

Lamai Serengeti, August 2017

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Hands down the BEST camp during our entire safari!

We stayed at Serengeti Safari Camp and it was absolutely amazing! We stayed at 4 different camps during our 12 day safari and this was absolutely the best one out of them all. My husband and I are 5 star hotel type seasoned travellers (think Four Seasons in Bora Bora and the Penisula in both Bangkok and NY) and after receiving excellent service at those hotels, my husband remarked that the service he received at the Serengeti Safari camp was the best service he had ever received in his life!! Kudos to the staff. They were simply outstanding and the food was AMAZING. I am not sure how they do it being that this is a mobile camp and all but the food was better than a lot of the thriving restaurants in NY. I will definitely spread the word to my friends and colleagues about this place.

Serengeti Safari Camp, August 2017

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

Truly magical!

Entamanu Ngorongoro is one of the most impressive places we've ever stayed! The stylish super luxury tents, the unforgettable spectacular view, the warm fireplace, all so wonderful. What really stood out for us the most, was the way manager Ben and his staff made us feel totally at home. We never met such an outstanding team totally committed to this magical place they created. Thanks for an experience our family of 5 ( kids 11,13 and 15) will never ever forget.

Denise and family, August 2017

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

What makes this camp so special is the staff.

As of June 2017, this tented camp went from being mobile to becoming permanent. What makes this camp so special is the staff. Mollel and his team went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable. The location allows you to come almost face to face with all the wildlife in the area. Elephants walked in front of our tent each day. The tents include flushing toilets and bucket showers, which are surprisingly efficient and delivered anytime you wish. There is electricity, and wifi is available. The food is incredible! Everything is freshly prepared each day. If you're looking for an authentic experience in Tarangire National Park with a comfortable setting, Kuro Tarangire is the perfect place! Thanks to the camp manager, Mollel and Nathan, our guide, for a wonderful experience.

Erica, July 2017

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

They say this is a once-in-a-lifetime trip, but we hope that’s not the case for us.

We can't really express how great a time we had. The safari was excellent, Nomad's camps were unbelievable and we loved our guide, Festo. We feel really lucky that he was the one showing us around Tanzania and the Serengeti, as he seemed able to spot wildlife from remarkable distances and had encyclopedic knowledge about everything we were seeing. He was also just a really fun and nice man. I hope Nomad realizes how valuable he is to them.

More broadly, the staff at Nomad were really remarkable in their service, and in making us feel at home. Really can't recommend all of them enough — particularly Ben at Camp Etamanu. We also joked when we arrived in Amsterdam that we were on our own because we no longer had Vanessa setting up car rides and hotels for us. Every driver was on time and every hotel went off without a hitch.

They say this is a once-in-a-lifetime trip, but we hope that's not the case for us.

Swanson, June 2017

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

We loved this lodge so much because it was so connected to nature

We fell equally in love with Nomad's Lamai Serengeti. Spectacular...As you know, I was very concerned that this time of year would be too quiet without any animals. And we saw the Big 5 in less than 12 hours. We saw 7 leopards in total, there was a pride of lions that lived within minutes from the lodge, and a tree full of baboons directly below our room. We would regularly see giraffes, zebras and elephants from our room's private deck. I can't imagine there being a place so densely packed with animals, where every game drive you would see different ones, but always SO MANY. And yet, it never felt crowded with cars or touristy.

Our A++ guide Lazaro was amazing. Please tell Nomad he is the best of the best and we love him..we heard from the other guides that he was the legend, and had been doing it for 23 years. 

We were also spoiled by what a spectacular lodge the Lamai Serengeti is...We loved this lodge so much because it was so connected to nature, with each room built into the rocks, no phones, little-to-no internet, and a hike to and from our room...And yet, it was simultaneously so elegant and high-end; the rooms were gorgeously designed, mostly-mesh to give you the full experience of being in the Serengeti, with sweeping views. The food was incredible. And every morning, we were awoken by Daniel softly knocking on our door and sliding our coffee order into a box in our room at whatever wake-up time we had requested the previous night. Each game drive, a stunning, decadent and delicious buffet of a breakfast was set up at one spectacular view or another...And again, it was the people who made it so special - we loved all of the staff who gamely tried to teach us Swahili every time we asked them, we loved our bodyguard Mr. P, and we LOVED Lazaro. We only wish we had spent more nights there, and plan to when we go back. 

Cavalero, June 2017

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Our guide - made the holiday

Just wanted to let you know that we had an absolutely amazing time in Tanzania and Zanzibar - everything was incredible; Felix our guide was brilliant and so easy to get on with - I have to say I think he made the holiday. Everything was so well organised, all the accomodation, food and travelling arrangements were excellent.  The tented camps definitely made us feel a part of the countryside and we have fallen in love with the country as a whole. We would love to return especially if we could have Felix as our guide again.  

nomad tanzania visitor , February 2017

Load more