Guest Feedback

What our guests say about us.

Review Person Quote Icon

Could not be more PERFECT!

If you are looking for rustic, but with all the comforts, Nomad Kuro Tarangire is the place. The tents are thoughtfully designed, maximizing view outside at every turn. They blend seamlessly into the surroundings and the animals wander throughout the camp as there are no fences.

The facilities are what you'd likely expect from a safari camp at this price point, but it's the thoughtfulness of amenities, the staff and the food that push it over the top and make it worth every penny. The rooms have an adapter, so no need to worry if you forget yours. They also have shampoo, conditioner and body wash in both the inside and outside showers, using refillable containers, so you can leave these things at home too and be sure you're not expanding your plastic footprint by using theirs. They take the extra step of placing hot water in a thermos at the sink for you to wash your face. (Note, the water in the tap is cold only. When you want a shower, you let them know and they fill the bucket with perfectly hot water - any time - day or night.). The veranda has 2 safari chairs and a chaise and is ideal for relaxing and watching the animals near and far. They place a bird bath just beyond the veranda, and birds do come and play, as do bushbucks and dik diks. They bring coffee in the morning at wake up. They miss nothing.

The staff - incredible, knowledgeable, intuitive, thoughtful. They are keeping track of you and you don't even realize it. I pulled a back muscle and they located pain medicine and called ahead to the next Nomad camp to advise them of my injury. The guiding was excellent - Emmanuel (who had not been called up since March due to the reduction in tourism, which was truly sad to see) was perfectly matched with us. He allowed us to take it all in without a running commentary and without rushing us. Then he started filling in all the details, opening our eyes to things we didn't initially see. We learned so much, saw so much, and enjoyed every minute with him. The camp manager, Mollel, is to be commended for running such a perfectly managed establishment, which seemed to work by magic. Such a takeaway is a testament to Mollel. Elias was the primary staff with whom we had interaction. He was attentive and engaging and make us feel at ease every day.

Lastly, the food. OMG THE FOOD! David, the chef, prepared food that left us speechless - at EVERY SINGLE MEAL! (If you visit a Nomad camp, ask them about the training they give their chefs.) I would eat David's cooking every day, for the rest of my life, if I could. It was outrageously good. In short, I cannot say enough good things about this camp. Just go. You won't be disappointed.

MW, November 2020

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Couldn’t Be Better than this Experience

Wonderful from start to finish. Like the previous camp, I was the only traveler at Lamai Serengeti, and it was a fabulous experience. The entire staff went out of their way to make me feel comfortable, the room was beautiful and comfortable, with an incredible view; it's on a hill, so every room has an incredible view! The meals were delicious, and the chef made me a special chocolate dessert my last evening that was to die for. My guide Musa was very knowledgeable, friendly, and fun to be with, as well as showing me everything I could hope to see. Be sure to go on a sunset walk to the Spirit Tree! This was my last camp on my trip, and it was a wonderful way to end my first African safari, the luxury and views were so relaxing before that long flight home. Highly recommended!

Azcahi, November 2020

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Absolutely flawless

This was our first stop on our 5nt/6day safari with Nomad Tanzania, we stayed 2 nights at Entamanu Private Camp and it was dream. We were lucky enough to have the entire place to ourselves and views of the Crater were amazing. All the staff at the camp were exceptional, they really made us feel like we were at home, they catered to our dietary requirements and ensured we were well fed all times of the day. It was also my wife's birthday on the day we arrived and the chef baked a cake! The first afternoon was spent on a 2hr walk with a local masai to the crater rim which was nice and very educational and the next day we spent the entire day down in the crater looking at the variety of wildlife which was amazing. I would like to give a special thanks to camp manager Mohammed and his brilliant team, and also to our very knowledgeable guide and driver Sammy for two days. We had such a unique and incredible experience, we felt safer in Africa than in London during the Covid pandemic, and got to experience animals feeling so relaxed and close up. I would definitely recommend everyone visit having now experienced it ourselves.

Mateen, November 2020

Entamanu Private

Review Person Quote Icon

Superb Serengeti Safari

A huge thank you to Laurence & James and all your amazing team. We could not have had a better start to our honeymoon - loved every minute. To anyone looking to go on safari, look no further. The safari is incredible and the guides are seriously passionate and professional, the accommodation is amazing five star quality and the staff are so friendly. The lodge is situated in the most incredible location, giving you the most amazing views. Not only were we spoilt to see the big five, we also saw the crossing of the wildebeest. This was the most incredible holiday. We cannot thank you enough for all your amazing hospitality - we cannot wait to come back.

Ed & Emily, October 2020

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Come Around!

I'm told that Entamanu mean "come around" in Maasai language and that is an apt description of the drive to the camp. But it's well worth the drive to stay at such a beautiful location with both staff and accommodations that are superb. Located in the Ngorongoro Crater, Entamanu is both centrally located and off the beaten path. (Go there and you'll see what I mean.) I cannot say enough about the friendly and professional staff who greeted us each time we arrived from a day's journey. They took great pains to see to our comfort and safety. The camp is extremely clean and comfortable and downright luxurious. And the food was excellent. If you are adventurous enough to realize that Covid is creating a unique travel climate right now, you would be hard put to find a better place to visit than Tanzania. Rather than being overrun by tourists as the safari camps usually are, I was privileged to be one of very few guests taking advantage of the opportunity to see Africa as few have been able to see it, when the only hordes are the wild animals and not the tourists, and the only close encounters are with elephants. And Entamanu is a lovely restful place to return to after an exciting day of spotting leopards, dodging hippos, and counting wildebeest legs. A special thank you to Moody, who always had a smile on his face and a friendly greeting, no matter what!

Azcahi, October 2020

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

Beyond Reasonable Expectations

We were very impressed and loved the hospitality and wonderful personalities of all the staff, Incredibly welcoming and engaging, the thoughtfulness of room touches such as warm water, loved the decor. The thoughtfulness of sundowners. The food is the best we have had anywhere else, better than any restaurant ever. Everything was beyond reasonable expectations. We loved hearing from Elias on how he came to Nomad and Emmanuel’s knowledge on guiding was incredible. This place is magical.

Erin & Robert, October 2020

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

AMAZING Sand Rivers Selous!

WOW! Sand Rivers Selous is a special kind of magic...!
Sand Rivers Selous was one of the best experiences we have ever had - we both agree that in our 6 week trip around Tanzania, this stood out the most for us, for so many reasons!
The lodge itself is so beautiful, so subtle, and blends in so naturally to the bush around it. Right on the banks of the Rufiji River, you can watch hippo and birdlife all day!! The view truly is breath-taking. We even had a small pod of hippo infront of our suite, who would serenade us through the night - African magic!

For the price point you are paying, this is serious value for money - and I would confidently recommend this to friends and family!

The suites are so lovely - open air (BLISS in the Selous heat), and the perfect place to relax after a day on safari or out on the river.

The bed is absolutely luxurious - big and extremely comfortable, beautiful linen, understatedand simple decor that makes you feel as if you are blending in to nature.

The food was Delicious with lots of variety (especially for a gluten free vegetarian such as myself). The chef made me feel so at home, and really kept my tummy happy!

This is all important on a safari trip, beautiful views, wonderful accomodation and good food with a side of GnTs - BUT Sand Rivers Selous was just so much more.

Hamza, the manager and guide, was special. So special! We had the most amazing time with him - he is an absolute naturalist - with a love and passion for the bush that shines in everything he does. He made such an impact on us, and we would spend all day on the river with Hamza - chatting, laughing, fishing. He was so professional, and yet so incredibly warm and welcoming, filled with knowledge, and understanding - this man is an absolute gem and the reason we would go back again and again.
we even extended our stay for one night longer, and considered just extending forever smile

PP, October 2020

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Stunning scenery and impeccable service

Stunning scenery and impeccable service

We loved this lodge. The views across the crater are spectacular. The staff was so friendly and the service was AMAZING! One evening we had our sundowners overlooking Old Duvai (the Cradle of Mankind). It was beautiful and very emotional (in a good way). We had a memorable visit to a Masai village with a guide named Luagane (sp?). I will be returning to this wonderful lodge.

Kkotulski, October 2020

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

Truly a 5 star experience!

My husband and I spent 4 nights here celebrating our 22nd anniversary. The lodge is very well managed by Lawrence. All staffs were super attentive and helpful. The room we stayed in had a beautiful view of the the sunrise. The bathroom was very clean and we were able to watch the sunrise while washing up in the morning. The attention to details here exceeded our expectations like the hot water bottles under our sheets to keep us warm during the night, the hot water bottles for warmth during our morning drives, and the thoughtful sundowner on our last night there. The food was great and healthy, we actually had a chance to try their local cuisine for one of the nights there. Our server, Baraka, was a gem and attended to all our needs. Each day we were there we had the pleasure of going on 2 game drives with Amos. He was very knowledgeable and knew the best angle to position the truck for the optimal view of the animals. Not only was Amos a great guide, he was also a great photographer, stopping the trucks when he noticed a great photo opportunity. Overall, I would definitely recommend this lodge to anyone wishing to visit the northern Serengeti.

Jeanet, October 2020

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

You too should consider this

We had the amazing opportunity to visit Greystoke Mahale for five nights in early September 2020. All the superlatives already written about the camp are true. It's a remote and an incredibly special place. The chimpanzee experiences in Mahale are arguably the best in the world. The staff, primarily from the local village, are extremely kind and provide outstanding service. Fabio and Barbara are exceptional hosts. And of course Mwiga, with his 23 years of experience in Mahale, is a true asset to Nomad and the national park. It's no wonder why he won guide of the year for Western Tanzania. We would definitely do the trip again tomorrow if it meant another five incredible days at Greystoke. You too should consider this.

Bort, October 2020

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

We were greatly cared for

Everyone so friendly and welcoming. Game drives fun and educational, Rem was great. Loved the peaceful setting and animal visitors day & night. Loved the walking safari and night drives. Also, we really appreciated staff wearing masks all the time even when we didn’t; the hand washing stations, and hand sanitizers. Felt greatly cared for.

Kathy & John, October 2020

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Amazing Honeymoon

My husband and I had a magical time here. The location is so close to the crater entrance which made for easy access for our game drives. The camp was beautiful and had amazing views. The manager Mohammed was so wonderful and helpful. All the meals were incredible! The team was so attentive and took all the necessary covid precautions. They organized an incredible sundowner cocktails In the bush as well as a crater rim walk. It was truly an experience we will never forget!

Amcoll, September 2020

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

Our best overall safari experience in Tanzania

Sand Rivers Selous offers a fantastic safari experience that breaks away from the monotony of conventional AM and PM game drives. Here, you can also go on walking safaris, boat cruising and sport fishing.

The property is located in an amazing location along the Rufiji River, where you can spot hippos all day long and the occasion crocodile sun bathing on the sand banks. The rooms and common areas are gorgeous.

Service from the staff was exceptional. Thank you to Benji, the new camp manager, and our friendly waiters, Reginald, Saidi and Essau. Bernadetta, the head chef, prepared amazing meals. Our highest praise goes to Hamza, our guide with over 15 years of experience with Nomad Tanzania. In nearly a month of doing safaris in Tanzania, Hamza was far and away the best guide we had. He exudes charm, wisdom and a genuine love for the bush. There were times we wanted to just relax at camp, but Hamza's passion and enthusiasm for guiding made it impossible for us to refuse.

We spent a total of five nights at Sand Rivers Selous and loved every minute. The animal sightings are a bit harder to come by than parks in the Northern Circuit, but the landscapes are spectacular. Still, it was here that we saw lions eating a baby giraffe, the elusive pangolin and a pack of wild dogs.

HP, September 2020

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

So So Special!

Where do we begin…… The best services ever!!

James and Laurence were the fantastic, we all had such a laugh. Amos was the best guide. I couldn’t ask for better birthday. Thanks everyone for making this so so so special. The food, the accommodation, the way the staff made us feel is 10/10. There is nothing to improve on. Everyone is fantastic. It is like a little bit of heaven.

Charlotte & Iselin, September 2020

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

So Relaxing and Wonderful Place

Mwiga was an amazing guide, so knowledgeable and sweet. Everything was perfect. We had been to countless safari camps  and travelled the world but it’s hard to think of a place as special as this. Also, no wifi is terrific, allows you to really get away. Fabio & Barbara set a great tone, and  all the staff was. Pupa & Masudi were excellent servers, so friendly and helpful

Ben, September 2020

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

A Special Experience!

Exploring Tarangire recently with Nomad gave us a rare glimpse into a camp and park without the crowds. The park itself is almost deserted making it a unique time to visit and Kuro camp with its simplicity and elegance was excellent; from the ambience to the staff who ensured COVID protocols were followed it was overall a special experience.

Martha, September 2020

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Couldn’t be better!

The camp was fantastic and we loved every second. Richard, the camp manager, could not have done more for us and we really did feel like royalty.  Everything was available for us, and even the gift shop (which we showed very little interest in!) remained fully open for us. We very much enjoyed spending time with guides Hamadi and John, who were full of knowledge and stories and couldn't be more helpful. And Bernadette's cooking was wonderful ... her recipe for fish curry is now a firm favourite back at home! We both very much look forward to making a return trip to this camp at some point.

Mark, September 2020

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Amazing place you need to go!

We had an amazing time here. The staff think of everything you may want even before you do. The manager is Mohammed and our guide was Roland. They are really special. We had a guided walking tour with a Maasai guide who was incredible too. The location itself is breathtaking food delicious and the vibe is super relaxed.

Abes, September 2020

Entamanu Private

Review Person Quote Icon

Absolutely fabulous!

It has been absolutely incredible experience for us. We have absolutely nothing negative to say. The team at Lamai was tremendous. The chefs cooked great food, our room was magically cleaned and prepped without us seeing any room attendants like magic. Laurence (manager) was always there, entertaining, making sure everything runs smoothly, arranging amazing sundowner for us high up on the rocks, making sure our son is ok. James gave us great briefing and Dixon was always attentive to all our needs. We never had to repeat ourselves. Everything was attended to. We were also impressed with transfer of information. When we arrived to Entamanu, we noticed 'pili pili' on the table. Lamai knew that we have pili pili with almost every meal and it was ready for us at Entamanu without us asking. I know it’s a small thing but that’s what matters when you run a luxury service. Kenny (Manager at Entamanu) was a lot of fun, entertained us for the evening and the property was just gorgeous. At some point we will try to visit properties in Selous, Ruaha, Katavi and Mahale as well.

Elena, September 2020

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

A favourite place

This is an absolute favourite! This was our second trip to Greystoke Mahale. The staff are second to none. Fabio & Barbara are the most charming, hard-working and efficient camp managers you are ever likely to meet. The three guides - Mwiga, Matius and Butati - are all joyful fonts of knowledge, and all work incredibly hard to make sure that everyone gets as much as they can from the treks in the jungle (including, obviously, spending time with the chimps). The trackers are an amazing team of wonderful people, and the behind the scenes staff back at the lodge are beyond excellent. It is a magical place, whose spell has been firmly cast over us.

Mark, September 2020

Greystoke Mahale

Load more