Guest Feedback

What our guests say about us.

Review Person Quote Icon

Wish I could give them 10 stars!

Lamai Serengeti was the first Nomad camp for us and I could not have been more pleased. The staff was exceptional, the food was amazing, the game drives were stunning, the facility was over-the-top, and the service was some of the best ever. Lamai's setting is so unique and so very special - I see why people return time and time again. We were fortunate enough to get room 1 and it was SO worth the short hike up to it. Stop reading reviews and just book this superlative lodge - you will NOT regret it. Even if you are not familiar with the term "Surprise and Delight", you need to know that we were surprised and delighted over and over at Lamai.

Colley, December 2021

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Special Christmas

We appreciate all the extra effort the staff has put to make Christmas in the bush extra special. The food was delicious, we enjoyed the animal sighting and our gifts. All staff were very friendly.

Thank you so very much Nomad.

Maria, Ben & Nick, December 2021

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Sumptuous high-altitude camp on the banks of the Ngonrogoro

Magnificent camp ideally placed facing the sunrise on the crater.

- simply magnificent infrastructure: fireplace, sober and elegant decoration in an altitude chalet theme.

- the rooms on wooden platforms face the crater, closed by transparent plastic "bay windows" for the view. A large terrace for each tent. A bathroom with a very large shower, high quality care products.

- impeccable service, discreet while always available. Efficient and warm service.

- A set of very pleasant attentions: hot water bottles in bed, cleaned suitcases, free bottle of wine, ...

- the best cuisine of our stay: a memorable piece of beef. The breakfast was really very good, as was the picnic. No complaints about the quality of the food.

- a well-stocked bar. 

A big crush on this incredible camp, thank you!

MM, December 2021

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

Second to none - a must visit camp

Nomad Serengeti has been one of the best safari camps we have ever visited and we have been around (SA, Botsuana, Mosambique, Zimbabwe, Sambia, Malawi. We saw lots of game and had a fantastic four nights stay. The team of Laurance has been exceptionally friendly and forthcoming. We have felt most welcome and enjoyed every minute. We plan to come back within the next 12 months.

Ulf, December 2021

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

Enjoyable safari camp experience

As others have mentioned, Kigelia is a remote camp in Ruaha national park that really feels like a true safari experience. Our tented accommodations we very comfortable and we had access to as many bucket showers as we wanted. It was hot during our stay (with the delayed November rains) but it cooled down so nicely at night. I loved the energy of the staff at Kigelia - it was being run by Raj who was also our guide and he was exceptional. We had great sightings - lots of lions, communal feeding off several kills (which was fun to follow over time), elephants and then other interesting things we had not seen like jackals (chasing impalas), bat eared fox and a leopard sighting (always thrilling!). The food and service were really great, and impressively so considering the remoteness and size of the camp. The staff brought great energy and enthusiasm to the camp, and it was fun to sit around the fire before dinner and chat with them and the two other guests during our stay. The other guests had a special anniversary and we were treated to a true celebration from all the staff at Kigelia. This was our third Nomad camp, and though they are all different (but all great!), I am very happy we got to experience the connection with the environment and animals that this camp allows - I felt more immersed than at some of the other camps.

StaceyT, December 2021

Kigelia Ruaha

Review Person Quote Icon

Unforgettable & Unrepeatable

Wonderful place, the adventure was unforgettable & unrepeatable, we wonder every time.

Thanks a lot for a beautiful holiday. It was amazing.

Sveta & Igor, November 2021

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

Chata Katavi is pure original bush feeling!

Everything you need is available in the camp, but there are no luxurious frills. I was traveling alone at the beginning of October and the last guest in the national park. I liked that very much, it also has a touch of adventure. The search for the big cats was very exciting, because that is actually the original bush feeling. We could see lions and several leopards, as well as the rare horse and sable antelopes. The landscape is very varied and thanks to the river it is partly green even at the end of the dry season. The food was excellent and everyone at the camp was very accommodating. I felt very comfortable and in good hands there.

PF, November 2021

Chada Katavi

Review Person Quote Icon

Authentic moment in North Serengeti

Authenticity ! The lodge is perfectly integrated in the landscape. Best view ! The excellent local food, the decoration, etc. are authentic….no bling bling but love in everything. The people are so kind and the service personalized. Our guide spotted the most amazing animal life moments. We will definitively return ❤️.

Isa & Fab, October 2021

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Amazing place

My wife and I stayed here for three nights before going to Nomad’s Lamai camp on one trip. Ngorongoro was our introduction to Tanzania and was completely unforgettable. This is a beautiful tented camp right in the rim of the crater, and it is incredible. The room was large and cozy at the same time, and again the staff made the experience outstanding here. We were warmly greeted on arrival by everyone. The managers, Muhammad and Godlove were excellent and made sure we were properly taken care of each day. Godlove drove us to the airstrip himself when we flew out and the guy was an absolute pleasure to talk with. During cocktail hour and dinner we were often helped by Jackson and Daniel who were so accommodating. The evenings can be cooler at the crater and each night they’d have a fire going in the lodge, it was lovely. The staff here nail down all the little things- like putting a hot water bottle in the bed to warm it up before we’d retire for the night! We grew to love our morning french press coffee which was delicious, as was every meal we had (Swahili night was the best!!). We also visited a local Maasai village which was a great experience, the people were super welcoming and open to showing us a little more about their culture. For our descent into the crater and game drives we were with our guide Paulo, who was exceptional in every way. Paulo was always pointing us in the right direction and teaching us new things. We saw the big five in the first five hours. He was so good that we asked if he come guide for us on the second half of our trip. Paulo was down, and Nomad made it happen. Best decision ever. Paulo routinely put us on amazing wildlife, and even more importantly was a pleasure to hang out with in the truck all day. We were so happy to get to know him! I can’t recommend visiting this special place enough. The crater is very unique and I’m super happy we stayed with these guys! It was perfect!

Mathew, October 2021

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

Best of the bunch

We visited Tarangire, Crater, Serengeti all with Nomad and, as it turns out, saved the best for last at Kigelia. The Nomad camps were all different and enjoyable, but the remoteness and laid back vibe of Kigelia was most suited to our personality. We found the camp comfortable and met all our basic needs. The bed was comfortable, the food was plentiful and tasty and the staff were, as with all Nomad camps, AMAZING, at the end of the day, it's all about the wildlife for us.

Elephants and giraffes are in abundance in Ruaha not to mention lions! It wasn't just the abundance of ellies, giraffes, lions, it was the quality of the interaction that was so special. This, in no small part, was down to the skills of our guide, Ken, possibly the most knowledgeable and perceptive guide we have ever encountered. It was a joy and an education to spend those precious days at Kigelia in his company. He is a truly lovely human being. We also had brief leopard sighting, as well as kudu, warthogs, impala, buffalo and a puff adder on our night drive. And the Baobabs, palm trees and sunsets are not to be missed either! With so much to see in the world, we rarely make a return visit, but this is surely one of the places that we'll revisit and that says it all really. Well worth the effort to get to Ruaha and get off the beaten path.

Fav, October 2021

Kigelia Ruaha

Review Person Quote Icon

Wondrous vacation

After 3 nights at Greystoke, I can't praise it enough. It is WELL WORTH the schlepp (by plane and boat) to get there. The accommodatons are top notch, the setting is enchanting and the staff all go out of their way to insure you get the best possible experience. The food was delicious, and covid precautions were carefully followed. Our guide, Matias, was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The camp was temporarily being managed by Mwiga, another guide, and he did a phenomenal job making sure our every need was met. When the chimps didn't cooperate on our second day and come within treking distance, everyone made sure we got an extra trek the next morning before we had to leave, and we had a wonderful hour observing a large group up close, on the ground.

Jayce, October 2021

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

Wonderful Serengeti Hosts!

We had a wonderful stay at the Nomad Serengeti Camp. Our guide, Amos, was determined to give us the best animal-viewing experience possible. Msongo, our camp manager, was a delightful host. The food was amazing, particularly when you consider the challenging environment. Evening campfires included great conversation. Every member of the camp team was gracious, helpful, and did everything possible to make our stay memorable.

AKM, October 2021

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

Magical Weekend

We received a very warm welcome and had a very comfortable stay in beautiful rooms with a view of the river, ate delicious meals, were treated to fantastic game drives with a very knowledgable guide, had a sunset boat safari and saw countless hippos, crocodiles and a breathtaking sunset, took a dip in the hotsprings and did a very informative walking safari followed by a delicious breakfast at the lake. It was magical to be in such unspoiled nature. I was also treated to an extremely relaxing massage. Special thanks to Hanza, Godfrey, Bernie, the two Sarahs and the rest of the team for an unforgettable stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Stash, September 2021

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Unique, intimate way to experience the Tarangire

This place is incredible! Such a unique way to experience the Tarangerie. From the moment you arrive you know you are in for a very special experience. An amazing staff greets you and with only a handful of rooms it feels so private and intimate. Nomads guides are some of the best we've experienced. So friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are beautifully appointed and so comfortable but a highlight has got to be the food. Everything was so fresh and delicious. It is obvious Joe and his team take a lot of pride in the job they do. The service is top notch. We have told all our friends since we've been back that if they want the best possible safari experience to go with Nomad.

Tammera, September 2021

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Special in Every Way!

August 2021 our party of 8 went on a Safari in Tanzania. My daughter and I spent 3 nights in Lamai Serengeti. From the moment we drove to Lamai Serengeti every interaction with Staff in camp or on a safari with one of the talented guides, we were impressed with their surprises. They made every effort to make sure we were happy and they made every dining event and beautiful gala. From folding napkins to resemble animals to spotting wildlife with those eagle eye, I had the best vacation I have ever had. The food was excellent and our room was spotless and relaxing . I would highly recommend Nomad Tanzania to be your host and Lamai Serengeti for your accommodations. Their experience and hospitality were awesome.

Mike , September 2021

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Brilliant camp in Ruaha National Park

Nomad's Kigelia camp was brilliant and well located within the Ruaha National Park (about an hour's drive from the airstrip - allows safaris to and from camp!). The camp is well established and the team are very knowledgeable and have your every interest at heart. Everyone we met was very welcoming - they really made the stay in the camp very special. Every little detail had been thought about in the tent (a proper and very comfortable bed, hot water bottles were placed in bed as part of the turn down service, a hot thermos was available in the evening, plenty of towels, bucket showers were filled promptly on request and plenty of deet and eco-friendly toiletries were supplied). Yes, the tent was simple, but it had absolutely everything you would need for a safari. There is no wifi in the tent, but there is a large undercover wifi area located by the main mess area (very good wifi speed). The food at the camp was great (very hearty and plenty of it - the lunch time salads were delicious). The cakes at tea time were yummy! Nomad kindly provided us with a 'flight pack' - a tasty selection of goodies for our journey pack to Dar El Salaam. We really enjoyed pre-dinner camp fire drinks with the manager, Ken, and other guests. The stars were just incredible (a real highlight). Our waiter, Joseph, was always on hand to top up drinks and tend to our requests. The bar was very well stocked (delicious pale rose) and we really enjoyed chilling out by the bar in the very comfortable and cosy main mess area. The camp's security guard, Mr P, was a safe pair of hands for walking back to the tent. Safari was incredible - our guide Raj was very knowledgeable and made sure we visited as much of the park as possible. Unlike many other national parks, Ruaha allows night time safaris (a park ranger is required to join the safari) - if you get the opportunity then you must do this, it was truly exceptional and we did see lots of nocturnal animals and a leopard! We also did a walking safari (again supported by a park ranger) and we did drive safaris. The breakfasts on safari were very good (french toast on one morning!). Ruaha is an incredibly beautiful national park and much quieter than the likes of the Serengeti. You really feel like you are on a private safari the whole time.

Charlotte, September 2021

Kigelia Ruaha

Review Person Quote Icon

Magical start at Kuro Tarangire!!

Kuro was such a magical start to our Tanzanian adventure! We arrived in Arusha the night before and were picked up by our guide Kakae (Wilfred) the next morning. He is one of the kindest, most knowledgeable, funniest people we’ve met and it was such a pleasure to spend 9 days with him. Traveling were my wife and I and our 2 kids ages 13 and 15. Kakae made it so fun for everyone, had all of us thoroughly engaged, and taught us sooo much. The drive to the lodge is awesome and once you get there, the staff are so nice and make everything easy and comfortable. Most pictures I saw before really didn’t do justice to how amazing this place was! It is perfect rustic charm and elegance. Comfortable and immerses you in Tarangire. We had a cocktail by a fire pit before they led us down a lantern-lit path to what we termed ‘dinner with lions!’ They were roaring a few hundred meters away throughout our meal. Initially, it was rather intense, but you could tell by how calm the staff were that this was normal, and we quickly learned to relax and trust them. The food is superb and bountiful. We loved the bucket showers and open feel of everything. These were our first game drives and we were blown away. Up close encounters with a cheetah on the hunt with her 3 cubs. Dozens, if not hundreds, of elephants including a close encounter with a large bull in must (male equivalent of heat from my understanding). So many birds, giraffes, zebras, baboons, and buffalo. The night game drive was a highly-recommended highlight! We saw porcupine, a leopard on the prowl, bush babies (monkeys), a serval cat, amongst others. The evening hike was also awesome with a ‘near enough!’ encounter with 4 hyenas and a not too distant herd of Buffalo. The Covid precautions were exemplary and we felt so safe the entire time. 2 nights was not enough but next stop was Entamanu Ngorongoro!

BenP, August 2021

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Seriously, traveling with Nomad was the most wonderful experience of all of our travels, ever!

Selous was SO amazing!  Hard to believe that it was our ‘back up’ option to Mahale. Teo was a great guide. The lodge itself was a contender for our favorite. The staff was beyond superb,  meals were wonderful, views stunning, nighttime sounds hilarious/exciting/exhilarating. The rooms were out of a storybook or Disneyland and the whole experience was magical.  The river Safari and flycamping were fantastic. As I wrote earlier, the level of staff satisfaction of working for Nomad and the positive energy that radiated from everyone, truly stood out as one of the greatest aspects of the trip! Seriously, traveling with Nomad was the most wonderful experience of all of our travels, ever! 

Ben, August 2021

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Tanzania Safari

Facility was amazing. Great views and very attentive staff. Wonderful birthday celebration for our daughter - really thought of every detail. Site manager, Jonathan, made everything happen effortlessly. Morning coffee through the dumbwaiter made early morning wake up call for safari drives actually pleasant. Hot water bottles in the bed after a delicious dinner and after-dinner drinks made for a cozy sleep. Incredibly private but a little far from the entrance to the park itself. Snacks in the car and lunches in the park were well thought out and plentiful. Sundowner bush bar great fun!

Ann, August 2021

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

STAY HERE!!!!

I had such a wonderful time at Lamai. I was traveling by myself and felt so welcome and at home the entire stay. The managers especially were just great, as was my guide, who was super knowledgeable and skilled at spotting animals in the bush, but also not overly chatty, which I appreciated! The room was just perfect, the massage I got was excellent and the food was delicious. I'd like to especially call out Milly for her excellent pre-departure service! She helped me arrange everything very last minute, including a number of tricky flights and a covid-19 test to get back to the US. Milly and the team are really top of the line and I definitely will stay at Nomad again when I'm back in Tanzania.

Rachel, August 2021

Lamai Serengeti

Load more