Guest Feedback

What our guests say about us.

Review Person Quote Icon

It is obvious that the company culture is about attention to detail, providing  a great experience in every way, taking care of the employees and giving back to the community.

I recently returned from my safari tot Tanzania and Kenya. While in Tanzania I stayed at your properties and was simply delighted on every level.  I did fill out the feedback forms but wanted to take a minute to let you know in retrospect how much we (my elderly parents and I) enjoyed and appreciated our guide, Masaa.

Masaa was a superb guide.  His knowledge of, well, EVERYTHING, was amazing.  He could tell us so much about every single animal (from the anecdotal to the highly scientific, it was like living National Geographic!), about the environment and land, about the history of Tanzania, about the current politics, and on to world affairs, he even quoted Shakespeare at one point but also sang a Karen Carpenter song with me (at the rim of Ngorongoro: "Top of the World").  We loved that he told us right at the start that we could ask him absolutely anything...so we did!  He was endlessly patient and happy to answer, even quite personal questions about his life, family and culture. And of course he helped us to see so much wildlife that would have been lost to us!  What is even more remarkable about Masaa is that he is not only a superb guide, but he is an exemplary human being.  His respect for the land, the animals, and for us, was palpable.  He was so incredibly kind and
thoughtful ALL OF THE TIME, we felt so incredibly lucky to share our African experience with him and to learn about him and see the world through his eyes.  My mom is not agile and every single time we stopped he was right there helping here in and out of the vehicle; my dad either cannot hear properly or is not always a good listener (we're not sure...) and oftentimes Masaa would explain something and then my dad would ask something suggesting he caught none of it and Masaa would not miss a beat, would happily say it all again.  And his sense of humor is excellent, which was good because we love to laugh.  Masaa's english is also exceptional...he speaks clearly and is easy to understand and his vocabulary is enormous for anyone’s first language, let alone their second!

In general I was incredibly impressed with our Nomad experiences. Everything was truly first-class all the way and it is obvious that the company culture is about attention to detail, providing  a great experience in every way, taking care of the employees and giving back to the community. The care they take to ensure that guests' needs are met or exceeded is astonishing.

Finney, October 2018

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

Well done on offering such an extraordinary product to the tourism industry of Africa and the world a large!

I have had the good fortune to have been coming to Greystoke Mahale since the 1990’s. My last visit was 2 years ago and this camp remains one of my top five most favourite camps and areas on the planet. I doubted Mahale could ever be as good as my last visit, however I was pleasantly surprised to see it managed to surpass that stay! 

Your management couple in Barbara and Fabio are among the most efficient, genuine friendly, informative and fun couples to be around! Mahale operated smoothly and happy throughout our entire stay! The guides in Butati and Matheus are extremely knowledgeable in all things Chimp as well as the vegetation and bird life in the forest and out on the Lake. In the forest, they were always there to offer a helping hand to those guests that needed it and to carry sticks, back packs, extra cameras etc. when we were with the chimps. The rest of the staff were so very gracious and accommodating to our every need throughout the stay. The food was exceptional! The menus innovative and a welcome change to other safari camps. 

There was not a single thing that went wrong during our four night stay, everything worked; the boats, early morning coffee so timely one could set a watch by it! The camp has retained its tasteful, simplistic charm, despite offering all the comforts one could wish for. Going out on the Lake each day is an added highlight. Greystoke Mahale definitely ranks as one of the finest places one could visit on the planet thanks to the Chimp interaction, the untainted forest and lake and the exceptional management abilities of Barbara and Fabio and their brilliant staff. Well done on offering such an extraordinary product to the tourism industry of Africa and the world a large!

Garth Thomson, Top Safari Guide , August 2018

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

We were very, very sad to leave.

This was the third of our Nomad Tanzania properties during our recent Safari. The Serengeti was amazing - such fantastic scenery and wildlife viewing - unforgettable. This camp is truly unforgettable too - the wonderful, wonderful staff, especially Mussa, our brilliant guide, plus the hospitality, the food, the fabulous gorgeous common areas, the nightly drinks by the fire outside, and the tents. The accommodation was a little simpler than the other properties, but still NOTHING like camping! The sights we saw, the animals we observed, the people we met - these memories (and photos) we will treasure forever. Nomad Tanzania look after you so well from the moment they collect you at the airstrip, until they deliver you back at the end of your stay. We were very, very sad to leave.

Caroline, July 2018

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

Elegant Rustic and Exceptional

Everything about this lodge is elegant, rustic and exceptional. The attention to the architecture and design is noticed and appreciated - the entire camp blends in with nature and is both discreet and luxurious. The rooms were well appointed with high thread count sheet and towels, beautifully handwoven rugs, funky countertops and breathtaking views off the deck. Each cottage is private and serviced with attention to detail - but very invisible (just how you want it). I would visit here again and again and again. Nomad team gets SIX STARS.

Curtis, July 2018

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Greeted by elephants right by our dining table!

Such a unique experience to watch elephants graze on the long grass right by the dining area. Beautiful comfortable location, beds comfortable with convenient bathroom inside living quarters. Staff was amazing, everyone working at Kuro went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

TripAdvisor, July 2018

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Thank you so much Kigelia crew, you are all wonderful!

After an incredible 4 nights at another Nomad camp in Selous (Sand Rivers) we were a little apprehensive about this one - we knew it would be more remote and we had got used to a bit of luxury! We needn't have worried - yes it was much more basic, but this camp was raw and authentic and the attention to detail and comfort was jaw dropping. Another wonderful welcome from Ken and his entire team greeting us on arrival with waves and smiles. We had been collected from the airstrip by our fabulous guide Joe who, as luck would have it, had happened to come across a pride of lions with 4 cubs on the way from the airport. We knew we were onto a winner the moment we met him. Game is a little harder to find here, especially at this time of the year, but it is elephant country and we were not in the least bit disappointed with our time there. Lions, elephants, giraffe, buffalo, a wonderful selection of antelope, stunning bird life and on our night game drive we found many other rare sightings. There was 4 of us, so we were offered the family tent which was fun - basically a double tent with a separation between the two rooms and each with their own outside shower. Despite no running water at the camp, the bucket showers were in fact even better then the previous camp - perfect temperature and we only needed to give them a few minutes notice before they appeared with ample amounts of water for us. Set on the edge of a dry river bed, it attracted a lot of wildlife, especially at night, roaring lions, laughing hyenas, and wild dogs. The food was shockingly impressive - how can food be so delicious and exceptionally fresh in such a remote area? Leave at 6.30am - Breakfast in the bush, back to camp for lunch, tea at 4pm then off on anohter game drive or walking safari. In the evenings, a camp fire was lit for us to enjoy our sundowners before supper - so much food!! Living within such close quarters to nature with sausage trees, the odd baboon spider and the possibility of a close encounter with an elephant just added to the exhilaration! Thank you so much Kigelia crew, you are all wonderful!

Touchelle, July 2018

Kigelia Ruaha

Review Person Quote Icon

Everything that happens at Greystoke is the reason we’d go back

Greystoke Mahale was the absolute highlight of our trip to Tanzania over December/January. The obvious attraction is the chimpanzees. You are taken by experienced guides up the mountain to find the chimps and once they are found, you stay an hour with the group. As they move around, so do you. It is impossible not to be captivated. Each has a different personality - shy and retiring, strong and aggressive, playful and cheeky. It is fascinating to get to "know" them during the hour that we stand amongst these amazing creatures. The chimpanzees are what got us interested in the trip. But, having been there, the location of the camp and the service and care that is behind everything that happens at Greystoke is the reason we'd go back. Barbara and Fabio, the camp managers, were wonderful. They clearly want to make sure that everything is perfect for the guests and their enthusiasm for the chimps and the rest of the camp is infectious. For example we were there at Christmas time and they had arranged a christmas dinner (complete with Turkey). Each day the food was seriously good. The staff were top-notch and never without a smile on their faces. The accommodation is in bungalows which are magnificent. They are open to the beautiful lake air and this is fun. They are also cleverly placed along , but this is fun and they are dotted along the "beach" of the lake in a clever way so that one does not need to be concerned about privacy. If you're reading this and in two minds about whether to visit Greystoke - YOU DEFINITELY SHOULD. The other things we did in Tanzania (mainly, safari-ing in the Serengeti) were also wonderful, but Greystoke was the best of all.

TripAdvisor, July 2018

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

We felt so welcome, and were very sad to leave.

I stayed here for 2 nights (mother and adult son.) We had just come from another Nomad Tanzania property, Kuro Tarangire, and the accommodation was just as spectacular here. Such beautiful decor, so comfortable even though you are in a tent. Common areas beautiful of course, the staff and meals were brilliant. We felt so safe, and well looked-after, and a bit like royalty really! The property is perched on the rim of the crater with outstanding views. We saw herds of giraffe in the forest near the camp. On the drive to the camp we saw zebra grazing for the very first time - so exciting. The early morning drive into the crater was so wonderful - the sun rising in that amazing setting was magical, and the wildlife spotting that whole day was unforgettable. Our guide Sammy was so knowledgeable and helpful - my son and I had the whole vehicle to ourselves, so were very comfortable. Again, we were met at the airport and delivered safely again after our stay - Nomad really look after you at all times. We felt so welcome, and were very sad to leave.

Caroline H, July 2018

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

The perfect end to our 16 day safari

Kiba Point was our final destination and perhaps provided the perfect end to our 16 day safari. First of all, being a private camp meant that our group of 4 were the only guests for the duration of our stay. The accommodations were lovely - having by now gotten accustomed to open air living and sharing space with a few flying critters now and again. We also found that listening to the night sounds of the hippos and their friends, as well as being able to walk to the end of our personal deck to catch the most glorious view of the Milky Way and night sky, provided tranquility and relaxation. Our first morning was a beautiful boat trip upriver while watching the hippos, crocs and tons of birds. This was a perfect change of pace from the typical game drive and we all really enjoyed it. The absolute highlight of this camp is Promise, the camp manager and awesome guide! I can’t say enough about Promise’s personality, knowledge and expertise. He has the kind of “larger than life” persona that is both delightful and humbling, and a laugh that engages everyone. At a young 30 years, Promise has interests that are respectable, knowledge that delighted and a history that is interesting to hear. HE is worth the trip to Kiba Point! Aside from the wonderful river trips, we enjoyed a couple of fun game drives. The animals here are a little more scarce but we saw an awesome pride of lions, giraffe, numerous gazelle and other various animals. If you are looking for tons of game, Selous might not be the best fit. But for an place with a variety of experiences, lovely accommodations and a welcoming staff, Kiba Point will not disappoint. And, one more thing, the food is awesome as well

TripAdvisor, June 2018

Kiba Point

Review Person Quote Icon

It’s truly an untouched, wild area.

This was our last stop in a 9 day Tanzania holiday. Flying in,we observed large expanses of water which were caused by the recent deluges in the rest of the country, and our camp staff told us they had never observed water levels this high in over 30 years. Wildlife was scattered as there was little competition for this usually scarce resource, however, there was no shortage of excellent viewing opportunities of herbiverous game and the many birds which thrive in these conditions. We were also lucky to see a leopard up close and spent a little time tracking her to see where she was headed. The camp itself is unique and has a rustic charm to it, facilities are adequate (flushing bush toilet and hot bucket showers) and the tents are slightly on the smaller side but amazingly situated to allow wildlife viewing. Every night we had something close by our tent so be prepared for close encounters, it's truly an untouched, wild area. The meals were fantastic and varied, and the staff extremely attentive with only a few minor hiccups due to the language barrier. The guides were incredible and did their absolute best with the conditions, we had the most amazing sundowner on the last day, seeing a 300 strong line of buffalo making their way across the plains, with the sun reflecting off the water filled areas to give an amazing red/purple hue to everything. I'm sure even the animals stopped to look at this, it was quite an emotional sight to behold! Overall, Chada is a camp I would recommend for it's uniqueness and 'Out of Africa' feel, and certainly worth the extra flying time to get there.

TripAdvisor, June 2018

Chada Katavi

Review Person Quote Icon

In summary Sand Rivers is out of this world.

We came here after spending a few days in the Ruaha and the luxury of the accommodation was a lovely contrast - glad we did it this way around. The staff couldn’t have been more friendly and the whole experience was fabulous.
A special mention to our game driver Hamadi whose knowledge, patience, enthusiasm and wit made the trip extra special. We were big fans of the fishing trips and our son catching a tiger fish a special highlight - a photograph is now pride of place in our house in the U.K.
Have recommended it to many people and some friends are visiting for their honeymoon in a few months time - I’m a little bit envious.
A must visit, special place.

TripAdvisor, June 2018

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Breathtaking

We spent the majority of our time with Godwin our Guide so he is the primary “Best Bit”, but our experiences at the camp wouldn’t have been as magical as they were without the many “heroes” managing the camps. From waking up in the morning to a soft spoken messenger delivering coffee and tea, to the well prepared tents and showers when we arrived back to camp. The food served either at camp or on safari was amazing. The chef and his staff created delicious meals throughout our trip. “Bravo!” ... Ben and his crew were outstanding. 

During our time in the crater, Godwin guided us around seeing all areas without “following” the others. The lunch in the crater was delicious and the company of all the birds was an added experience. One of the things on our list of to do’s was to visit a Maasai village, to be able to understand the how and ways that they live - Godwin’s relationship with the villagers and his knowledge allowed us to visit with them and see many aspects of their lives, including the inside of one of the huts. Thanks to all! 

TripAdvisor, May 2018

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

Wow!

Amazing Cheetah and Wildebeest.....

Lawrence and his team did a spectacular job.....there was nothing too much for them....including getting a fire for us after a heavy rain. All of their extra effort was greatly appreciated. John our waiter was amazing! We had an elephant visit us in camp and when we were sitting by the fire - it was a bit "exciting" to say the least. The camp was extremely comfortable and the food was fantastic. The bucket shower was perfectly suitable for the environs we were in. Overall an amazing experience.

Peter, May 2018

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

Unforgettable experience to paradise

There aren't enough words to describe how amazing every part of this place is. The setting, the staff, the beach, the food, the people, and, of course, the chimps, were all incredible. We were lucky enough to visit with only one other guest so our family truly felt like we were staying with family friends. Fabio and Barbara could not have been better hosts and Butati absolutely made this and unforgettable experience for our 13 and 16 year old girls. 

We spent 3 days exploring in the forests, learning about and watching the M family of chimps. We learned an incredible amount about their family structure, their habits and personalities. When we "met" them, it was easy to learn who was who by their looks and actions. Butati and the trekkers, along with Raymond, the park ranger, all ensured a safe and memorable trek both times we went.
When not in the forest, we enjoyed an extremely relaxing couple of days on the shore of the most beautiful lake I have ever seen. We played games, watched the local wildlife (in particular, we loved Juliette the resident warthog), went for boat rides and swims in the lake and spent hours talking with the staff.
Our hearts will be forever changed because of our experience in the local village of Katumbi at the end of our visit. The most warm, welcoming people live in this remote place at what feels like the end of the earth. Their generosity of spirit in the face of much adversity (most importantly, lack of running water and limited educational and medical options) is a reminder of how fortunate we are to live as we do. We feel so lucky to have had this time in Mahale.

TripAdvisor, April 2018

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

Unique and spectacular

Spent 3 nights here with my husband and two teenage girls. The staff could not have been more friendly, welcoming and helpful. Dixon and Ben were incredible hosts. And Lisingo was generous to share his Masai village and culture with our family during our stay. The "tents" are fantastic-they have every comfort you could want even though you are "camping. And the views cannot be beat. There is nothing like a sunrise over the crater! We enjoyed our game drive, culture walk, and my daughter loved cooking in the kitchen! Thank you all for an incredibly memorable visit.

TripAdvisor, March 2018

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

When I dream of Africa…I dream of Lamai Serengeti

The adjective “magical” comes to mind over and over again when attempting to describe glorious Nomad Lamai. Our daughter and son-in-law stayed here a year ago and implored us to visit Lamai—‘if you go to one place, it has to be Lamai…just plan your trip around it’ and ‘it is the best place in the world’—and they were right (they were so right they decided to return again this year when we visited—and we do get it now, yearning to go back).

Nomad’s motto is “Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Wildlife” and it sums up their Tanzanian properties/experiences to a tee: they hire the best managers, guides, chefs, staff and are situated in the most beautiful and unique settings (we also stayed at Nomad Mahale, which was sublime, too). We can’t thank our guide Lazaro and Nomad enough for this trip of a lifetime. And, yes I cried, and my daughter wept as our plane took off. 

Lamai Private, March 2018

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

The garden of Eden: fabulous, gorgeous, stunning!

If there is one place on earth where I could lose my soul, it’s this one. We thought by moments that we were in the garden of Eden. What a beautiful and diversified nature. Almost no tourists as well which is, after Serengeti, very enjoyable. The presence of the Ruaha river makes the whole place even more magic with lots of beautiful birds, hippos and hundreds of elephants. Apparently even 10% of the african lion population lives here. The Kigelia Ruaha camp is set up in the spirit ‘back to the basic’ but in a very pleasant way. As with all Nomad camps, this is an intimate set up with just 7 tents. run by very nice staff and the manager who does a great job. We did a walking safari as well, glad to strectch the legs. For us, Ruaha was the absolute highlight in our trip because of the diversity of landscape and the presence of the Ruaha river. 

Anon, February 2018

Kigelia Ruaha

Review Person Quote Icon

Don’t miss this one

Kuro Tarangire was our first safari stop right in the middle of Tarangire National Park, very remoted and is a fab location. Our tent was just fabulous with inside and outside (bucket) showers. This camp has an incredible and intimate ambiance. The wildlife watching was of ‘high standard’ too. We were lucky to watch the cheetah and leopards, lots of elephants and buffalos but not to forget the mongoose, foxes, baboons etc etc. All made for a very exciting night safari. I want to thank the whole team of Kuro Tarangire and their manager for the warm and enthousiastic way of running this camp.

Kreft, February 2018

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Truely remote paradise!

Greystorke Mahale is perhaps the most beautiful place i've ever been! I've stayed at several of Nomad Tanzania properties (all which were incredible) but this was by far their crown jewel.

If you like being in very remote places, where your closest neighbors are literally a group of Chimpanzee....you love it here too!

I spent a whole 7 nights here. Most take the 3 or 4 night option as that's how small plane flights work out. It combines well with a traditional safari camp called Chada Katavi. It's a long journey across Tanzania by plane and then boat to get here but completely worth it. You are met by a very charming host, taking care of every guest's needs. The chalets are simple but not without comfort or rustic luxury. All have stunning views of the lake that look across onto the Congo. The sunsets are ridiculously beautiful here and especially from the bar area.

Naturally the best part of Mahale are the Chimpanzees. I went in November, the slight off season. It did rain quite a bit but with todays weather patterns you really never know. It didn't stop us from trekking up the mountain and having the most personal and close up experiences with a the M group Chimps. I was left speechless! My guide Butati has now turned into a lifelong friend and made this visit beyond special. His knowledge and pure love for these animals enhanced the whole experience. The whole staff were just terrific. There is no place like this. Remote, beautiful and authentic.


I loved every minute in Mahale and hope somehow I can make it back again soon! Thank you Greystoke and Nomad Tanzania

Rebecca, February 2018

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

If you want the trip you never forget, this is the one!

We stayed for 4 nights with Nomad's Serengeti Safari Camp in mid-Jan ( the quiet season). This was only one of our stops out of 5 countries but was the best and most memorable by far. The team and the philosophy of the camp manager meant that they always exceeded your expectation with the friendly, helpful and professional team. The accommodation was very luxurious from the big comfortable beds to the bucket showers (better than most hotels). We will be back. 

Kim, Serengeti Safari Camp, January 2018

Serengeti Safari Camp

Load more