Guest Feedback

What our guests say about us.

Review Person Quote Icon

Our best overall safari experience in Tanzania

Sand Rivers Selous offers a fantastic safari experience that breaks away from the monotony of conventional AM and PM game drives. Here, you can also go on walking safaris, boat cruising and sport fishing.

The property is located in an amazing location along the Rufiji River, where you can spot hippos all day long and the occasion crocodile sun bathing on the sand banks. The rooms and common areas are gorgeous.

Service from the staff was exceptional. Thank you to Benji, the new camp manager, and our friendly waiters, Reginald, Saidi and Essau. Bernadetta, the head chef, prepared amazing meals. Our highest praise goes to Hamza, our guide with over 15 years of experience with Nomad Tanzania. In nearly a month of doing safaris in Tanzania, Hamza was far and away the best guide we had. He exudes charm, wisdom and a genuine love for the bush. There were times we wanted to just relax at camp, but Hamza's passion and enthusiasm for guiding made it impossible for us to refuse.

We spent a total of five nights at Sand Rivers Selous and loved every minute. The animal sightings are a bit harder to come by than parks in the Northern Circuit, but the landscapes are spectacular. Still, it was here that we saw lions eating a baby giraffe, the elusive pangolin and a pack of wild dogs.

HP, September 2020

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

So So Special!

Where do we begin…… The best services ever!!

James and Laurence were the fantastic, we all had such a laugh. Amos was the best guide. I couldn’t ask for better birthday. Thanks everyone for making this so so so special. The food, the accommodation, the way the staff made us feel is 10/10. There is nothing to improve on. Everyone is fantastic. It is like a little bit of heaven.

Charlotte & Iselin, September 2020

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

A Special Experience!

Exploring Tarangire recently with Nomad gave us a rare glimpse into a camp and park without the crowds. The park itself is almost deserted making it a unique time to visit and Kuro camp with its simplicity and elegance was excellent; from the ambience to the staff who ensured COVID protocols were followed it was overall a special experience.

Martha, September 2020

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Couldn’t be better!

The camp was fantastic and we loved every second. Richard, the camp manager, could not have done more for us and we really did feel like royalty.  Everything was available for us, and even the gift shop (which we showed very little interest in!) remained fully open for us. We very much enjoyed spending time with guides Hamadi and John, who were full of knowledge and stories and couldn't be more helpful. And Bernadette's cooking was wonderful ... her recipe for fish curry is now a firm favourite back at home! We both very much look forward to making a return trip to this camp at some point.

Mark, September 2020

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Amazing place you need to go!

We had an amazing time here. The staff think of everything you may want even before you do. The manager is Mohammed and our guide was Roland. They are really special. We had a guided walking tour with a Maasai guide who was incredible too. The location itself is breathtaking food delicious and the vibe is super relaxed.

Abes, September 2020

Entamanu Private

Review Person Quote Icon

Absolutely fabulous!

It has been absolutely incredible experience for us. We have absolutely nothing negative to say. The team at Lamai was tremendous. The chefs cooked great food, our room was magically cleaned and prepped without us seeing any room attendants like magic. Laurence (manager) was always there, entertaining, making sure everything runs smoothly, arranging amazing sundowner for us high up on the rocks, making sure our son is ok. James gave us great briefing and Dixon was always attentive to all our needs. We never had to repeat ourselves. Everything was attended to. We were also impressed with transfer of information. When we arrived to Entamanu, we noticed 'pili pili' on the table. Lamai knew that we have pili pili with almost every meal and it was ready for us at Entamanu without us asking. I know it’s a small thing but that’s what matters when you run a luxury service. Kenny (Manager at Entamanu) was a lot of fun, entertained us for the evening and the property was just gorgeous. At some point we will try to visit properties in Selous, Ruaha, Katavi and Mahale as well.

Elena, September 2020

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

A favourite place

This is an absolute favourite! This was our second trip to Greystoke Mahale. The staff are second to none. Fabio & Barbara are the most charming, hard-working and efficient camp managers you are ever likely to meet. The three guides - Mwiga, Matius and Butati - are all joyful fonts of knowledge, and all work incredibly hard to make sure that everyone gets as much as they can from the treks in the jungle (including, obviously, spending time with the chimps). The trackers are an amazing team of wonderful people, and the behind the scenes staff back at the lodge are beyond excellent. It is a magical place, whose spell has been firmly cast over us.

Mark, September 2020

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

Lamai Serengeti - Wonderful Place!

Lamai Serengeti is a truly wonderful place. It seamlessly fits into the natural landscape so that you can hardly see it from the savanna. It sits on a high outcrop with exceptional views from the camp balconies. The wildlife is superb as you would expect and the migration is one of the natural wonders of Africa. But what makes Lamai truly special is the staff. Laurence, the manager, is one of the most hospitable hosts we have experienced. He is so warm and thoughtful. From joining us for drinks by the fire before dinner to seeing us off each morning at 6 am, Laurence was always looking after our well-being. The best part was that he organized a surprise celebratory lunch out under a tree in the bush overlooking a wide valley. It was a true Out of Africa moment! Lamai is also very focused on covid safety with the staff wearing masks and hand washing stations everywhere. They took the temperature of us and all staff daily. We really felt that they took it very seriously and we felt there was very little risk in contracting the disease while there.

Chris, September 2020

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Exceeded all expectations

The tent design is the best, so airy and fresh, we loved the house keeping and how spotless the tent was - we didn’t want to leave it. The day bed, the COMFORT of the room - all so well laid out and thought out. Professionalism, warm and friendly staff plus corona efficient! It is so peaceful and magic here; the most wonderful room  we have visited. Asante sana!

Penny, September 2020

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Amazing Manager and staff

We came with Ian who is the best guide in the world, Mohamed was our host who is vey attentive and looked after us very well; Sammy, Kakiya, Kassim and all the staff were wondaful. Thank you Nomad.

Jessica, September 2020

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

Hospitality at its peak

I felt solemnly welcomed, like coming home. Perfect services, the staff knowing what you want before it comes to your mind.

Martina, August 2020

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Great Experience! Wonderful staff!

The best ambiance, the best services and the best camp. Staff were excellent, courteous, efficient and friendly. The evening game drive, the sun-downers and the camp fire were also the finest.

Hewison, August 2020

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Completely blown away by Entamanu

We had never visited Ngorongoro Crater, and decided that there really is no better time than now: it's a once-in-a-lifetime experience, and to be there with hardly anyone else is an unimaginable privilege. The magic of the Crater itself needs no describing... it was utterly spectacular, and we felt like the only ones in the entire area - something you'd only ever dream about in normal circumstances.

But it was Entamanu that really took our breath away. The decor is just perfect; like the kind of home you'd very much want to live in! And the staff couldn't have been more welcoming, more friendly or more hospitable. They really looked after us, and it was such a pleasure to be there. Delicious food, wonderfully cosy rooms, views to die for... we really were loath to leave. We couldn't imagine staying anywhere better to experience this spectacular part of the world, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it a thousand times over.

RJ G, August 2020

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

The Best!

The service was incredible, the people are very attentive, they take care into the smallest details to make sure we had everything. The food was delicious, all of them. Our guide is great, he knows the areas very well and tried to look for certain animals that we wanted to see. Everything was amazing.

Okky & Jan , August 2020

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Everything Fantastic

There are no 'Best Bits', EVERYTHING was outstanding. The camp staff were fantastic, discreetly attentive. Thank you, Nomad.

Derek & Susan - Sand Rivers Selous guests, August 2020

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Extraordinary Greystoke Mahale

Simply one of the most extraordinary camps and locations one could imagine! After a small plane ride and a boat ride on Lake Tanganika, one finally arrives! Our hosts, Fabio and Barbara, are beyond wonderful, and the staff are the friendliest, most caring and considerate and helpful and fun anywhere. Fantastic 'tents' and great food...and CHIMPANZEES!

sharon, May 2020

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

Another World

Visited the south part of the Serengetti and stayed in tents for several days. Went for daily trips to find animals what were plentiful! The drivers knowledge of the area was great! and he always found what we were looking for. The food was extremely good and varied. The staff helpful to our needs in a corteous manner. The tents were clean and confortable. Pricin was right!

Dan, April 2020

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

Unforgettable experience!

Lamai Serengeti was a fantastic place to finish our wonderful safari holiday in Tanzania. The setting was spectacular, the staff were friendly and very professional, the ambience was relaxed but also quite luxurious. I loved the extra touches, such as the hot water bottles, afternoon cake and open fires for the chilly evenings. Our guide was excellent, very experienced and he worked so hard to ensure we saw a lot of wild life despite the unseasonal weather. I felt privileged to be able spend time in such a beautiful place, I will always remember watching a herd of giraffes feeding and moving slowly along just in front of my balcony where I was sitting in the late afternoon. I can highly recommend this camp, and would definitely consider returning there.

Oldwill, March 2020

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

How can one not love this place

Right in the middle of the bush this property provides a true safari stay. Animal trampled grass all around, the large open room design, open bucket showers. Great and warm staff that will look after you. Phenomenal night sky accompanied with a log-fire. True wilderness experience in great comfort. Yes I will stay here again.

Zaf, February 2020

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Magical location with great service

From our vantage point at our tent or at the common areas there were lots of opportunities to see birds drinking from all the bird baths along with elephants that would occasionally walk through camp. Eating out in the open and by the river bed were all memorable experiences. Very thoughtful and caring staff.

Deb, Tripadvisor, February 2020

Kigelia Ruaha

Load more