Guest Feedback

What our guests say about us.

Review Person Quote Icon

Our minds have been expanded and the doors to perception blown wide open

We came here expecting to be amazed by our planet, endeared to the people of Tanzania, and - yes - slightly pampered. You and your staff have done all those things. But what we didn't quite expect was to have our intellectual curiosity sparked in such a profound and irreversible way.

Our minds have been expanded and the doors to perception blown wide open.

Thank you.

Chada Katavi Guests, July 2019

Chada Katavi

Review Person Quote Icon

My favourite part was sitting on the porch of my room and watching giraffe and elephants amble past.

The staff and service were well beyond our expections, as was the food and attention to detail. My favourite part was sitting on the porch of my room and watching giraffe and elephants amble past. 

Wojewada, Kuro Tarangire, June 2019

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

We were surprised everyday!

Dinner set up in our room, massage, sunset fishing, hot springs, cuisine was fanatstic, breakfast and tea time in the middle of the safaris was incredible. Asante sana! 

Ruiz, Sand Rivers Selous, June 2019

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Ruaha is in our hearts. 

It is very hard to talk about the best bits becuase it was all the best. Guides, staff, food, views, animals, sunset. Everything. The magic of the location. Ruaha is in our hearts. 

Hendershot, Kigelia Ruaha, June 2019

Kigelia Ruaha

Review Person Quote Icon

All the staff treated my family with such kindness.

I truly enjoyed the friendly and welcoming feel of the camp. All the staff treated my family with such kindness. The accommodations were amazing and our guide Hussein was terrific. 

Nakaja family, Kigelia Ruaha, June 2019

Kigelia Ruaha

Review Person Quote Icon

I don’t think you can improve - amazing!!

James, Baraka, Jonathan - the whole team was amazing. My kids were so well taken care of and felt so much love for this team. We will not forget this trip because of the staff. Emmanuel is a wonderful guide. His smile, his knowledge - perfect. Laurence and James - you are doing a stellar job. 

Bushtracks Family, Lamai Serengeti, June 2019

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

The very best part was the people!

They were kind, sincere, so welcoming and doing their very best to make our stay a wonderful experience. Our guide Silvanus was amazing. I honestly cannot tell you anything I would improve upon, the food was just so good and has so much variety. We really loved also the mammal and bird checklists you gave so we could keep up. Mosongo as a camp manager is brillint. Change NOTHING. 

Patterson Family, Serengeti Safari Camp, June 2019

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

A true remote bush camp with every comfort

Wildlife abounds in this remote corner of Tanzania. Incredible landscapes, where even seeing another vehicle is unlikely.

Rayman, Chada Katavi, May 2019

Chada Katavi

Review Person Quote Icon

If you want intimate, understated elegance on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater - this IS the place.

Unlike other luxury properties, it is not pretentious. It has a relaxed atmosphere and the views are simply blissful. Each oversize tent has a heater, which is wonderful. You'd be surprised how chilly it gets at night there. The main tent also has a cozy fireplace. The meals were delicious and varied. Great local artwork throughout the camp and, one of my favorite features, a great collection of books. We also went to the village where some of the staff are from. It's not inexpensive, but do yourself a favor and make sure that his camp is part of your safari.

Africa Travel Centre, Entamanu Ngorongoro, April 2019

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

A once in a lifetime experience?

We came into this trip telling ourselves it was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. We were lying to ourselves. At the other Nomad camps we visited earlier in our trip, whenever we told someone we were concluding our safari with 4 nights at Greystoke Mahale, their eyes lit up and they told us it was an absolute paradise. It's hard to live up to praise like that. But Greystoke Mahale met and far surpassed those expectations. Paradise it certainly is. I honestly can't say enough about our experience here. Whatever I write won't do our visit here justice.

Boe, Greystoke Mahale, March 2019

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

Why I chose Nomad Tanzania for our first African Safari

Our Safari guides, who had all been with the company for 10, 15 even 20 years, always had the best interest of animals (and safety of guests) in mind. The close encounters we had were typically when animals walked right up to the road. Many guides unfortunately go “off-roading” in order to ensure guests get great pictures, meanwhile destroying flora and fauna and disturbing animals. 

Our guides served as spotters for not only for animals, but for trash. If any trash was seen, our guides quickly pulled over to collect it. We only saw 1 or 2 pieces of trash in the many miles we covered in multiple parks. Our guides were incredibly passionate about reducing use of plastic. They described the ongoing training the company provides them on the impact of the use of plastic. On our first day, our guide provided us with reusable water bottles to use during our trip - he was thrilled to see I had already packed mine. Our guide also spoke about hoping to inspire others to reduce/eliminate the use of plastics in order to protect future generations. He was terrified at the thought of our sea salt containing microplastics. 

I absolutely feel like we chose the right company to guide us through Tanzania. It truly felt like a mutually educational experience which is so important when traveling.

We can’t wait to go back and explore more of beautiful Africa!

Brenner x 2, February 2019

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Outstanding Lodge!

Sand Rivers Selous is definitely a 5 star lodge. Michelle, the manager and her staff have done a great job. All of the staff were very friendly, especially our driver Ernest who was a great guide on the driving safaris, walking safaris and the boat safari. The lodge is in a beautiful setting and is very well decorated. The rooms have a great view of the river. The sundowners were a lot of fun! The food was fantastic and the service by all of the staff! We saw a lot of animals, especially giraffes and a lot of birds. The weather was great and the scenery was very lush. We definitely will be going back to Sand Rivers for another holiday!

TripAdvisor Review, February 2019

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Mkombe’s House - Wow. Just wow. How safari trips should be

We were two couples travelling together and spending four nights at Mkombe's House. Lucky us. I'd suggest selling your children to raise the funds to stay here, if needed. If not needed, all the better, because it's geared up to be child-friendly too. What. A. Place.

A tastefully decorated private house for four adults and up to four kids, with staff all to yourselves, make this the most wonderful private safari experience. We went in low season - the big wildebeest herds were at the other end of the Serengeti in February - and still saw lots of animals as well as over 200 species of bird. Manager Babu and his team are anxious to ensure you have a wonderful time and have everything you need. They are well drilled - this can lead to a slight loss of flexibility at times, but nothing terrible - and their pride in the house, in Nomad (the company that runs Lamai Serengeti) - and in Tanzania shines through. Babu taught me how to play Bao, the national (and indeed regional) board game. Emanuel, our brilliant guide, had the best sense of humour and was super at finding not only great animals but also birds (two of us are birders). Three different leopards at close quarters was special, but how about a leopard tortoise to boot?! (one of the "small five", apparently). Four cheetahs was quite something and the photogenic six lion cubs posing on rounded boulders or playing like kittens could not help but leave us grinning. All pretty much to ourselves, too, none of the crowds of vehicles you get elsewhere on the Serengeti or, even worse, in the Ngorongoro Crater. The food is very good indeed - Tanzanian cuisine (which is South Asian influenced, it seems) rather than the standard Victorian English influenced-fare one often gets on safari in former English colonies. Sundowners were as they should be. This is a special set up - the main lodge looks very nice, but Mkombe's House is really something else - if you get a chance to go with friends, grab it!

TripAdvisor Review, February 2019

Mkombe’s House Lamai

Review Person Quote Icon

There’s an authenticity to it all that I couldn’t help but notice. It was incredibly inspiring. 

I had spiritual & physical reactions to my experience and to my time spent at the Nomad properties. They each floated into each other in such gentle and truthful way. The physical magic of being in these locations and being taken care of from start to finish was a testament to how well run the company is. That of course could only be a true thing with such a long and deep employee retention rate. You are only as good as your staff. I know that because I have also dedicated my life to the hospitality industry. I know a true thing when I see it! To piggyback on that idea, It seems like Nomad has a lot of incentive programs and up-training protocols in place for all of its staff.  Also, promoting from within and really making a direct impact on the local level because so many staff are from the surrounding areas. There's an authenticity to it all that I couldn't help but notice. It was incredibly inspiring. 

Nickle, December 2018

Chada Katavi

Review Person Quote Icon

If only the rest of the world would operate in this way, what a dream that would be.

Dear Ken and staff, 

Stewardship is a high calling. You and your staff carry out with responsibility to the highest degree, to your guests, to Kigelia and to Ruaha. We were treated at all times by all of you with the utmost respect, grace, kindness, care and professionalism. Kigelia is a perfect place in an imperfect world and it rests in your loving hands. Thank you for sharing it with us. We are touched in many ways by your thoughtfulness and care. Every imagineable detail thought through and taken care of. You are all an inspiration - if only the rest of the world would operate in this way, what a dream that would be. Thank you so so bery much for everything you do and have done for us.

Asante sana, Tony and Terry. 

Mills family, November 2018

Kigelia Ruaha

Review Person Quote Icon

I left a piece of my heart in Kigelia

We were excited after landing at the airstrip and then we were greeted by our Guide, Hussein. I can't begin to tell you, the great love and admiration we had for Hussein after 4 nights at camp, but I will save that for later. 
Arriving at camp we were greeted warmly by Camp Manager, Ken and the lovely staff. The camp is so rustic and beautiful, set on the banks of the Ifuguru River and nestled amongst Sausage trees. Although the camp is rustic you do not want for anything. The accomodation is beautiful, with comfy beds and if you wish you can have the thick canvas tent walls up at night, allowing just the flyscreen as your wall to give you a more intimate affair with the surrounding bush. Little touches, like the small bird baths at each tent, was lovely as birds gathered to quench their thirst. Bucket showers are lovely and hot and plentiful, (however due to the lovely warm temperatures we chose to have cold showers) not to mention the delicious food which is endless. We were extra lucky to have a full moon on our 4 night stay, which added to the night time visits of all the bush critters from Ellies munching by our tent and calls from Lions and Hyenas. Oh how I miss Kigelia as I write this. On our last night we were treated to a meal set down on the river bed (it is dry this time of year) With traditional foods and an amazing song and dance by the staff, I have to say the night was hypnotic and filled with great joy. ( the efforts that staff went to, to set up this celebration were enormous) A special thank you to the staff that stood on guard in the shadows of the river to keep us safe from wondering critters. Simply amazing.
Now for the game drives. We would head out early each morning and take a bonnet breakfast to eat out in the bush. When we arrived back in camp, Ken was always there to greet us with a warm smile and genuinely cared how our day had been. On every drive Hussein would tell us about the plants the birds and the animals, as we enjoyed together the sights and sounds of Ruaha. Hussein's, skill as a driver was commendable, his knowledge of his surroundings and the way in which he could find all sorts of animals and birds was amazing. However it was the warmth of Hussein's nature, his sense of humour, combined with his knowledge and love of nature that made our stay so memorable and left me in tears when we said our farewell. 
Ruaha National Park, is simply stunning, it is raw and wild and filled with endless beauty. So I say a heartfelt Thank you to you Ken and your wonderful staff. 
To Hussein, I left a piece of my heart in Kigelia, thank you for your warmth and for sharing Ruaha with us. Asante Sana

Parkes Family, November 2018

Kigelia Ruaha

Review Person Quote Icon

We would definitely recommend Nomad to our friends and family

Just a note to say a huge thank you to your fantastic team we met on our amazing safari holiday.  My family and I have had the most wonderful experience with breathtaking scenery, superb guiding, sightings and all round general excellent care and service.  We cannot thank you enough and wanted to express our appreciation.

The camps were truly superb and the staff should be commended, both front of house but also all the people behind the scenes whom you don’t meet but make your stay so seamless and comfortable, we know they all must work very hard.

Both our guides Anael and Musa were brilliant and we couldn’t have asked for better care, knowledge and a genuine commitment to making our time in Tanzania so memorable.  Their kindness and enthusiasm was outstanding and both such wonderful warm people. Infact, everyone we met was so kind and nothing too much trouble, so please thank them on our behalf.

We would definitely recommend Nomad to our friends and family and also hope that one day we can return and see some more of your beautiful country.
 

Onyett Family, October 2018

Review Person Quote Icon

It is obvious that the company culture is about attention to detail, providing  a great experience in every way, taking care of the employees and giving back to the community.

I recently returned from my safari tot Tanzania and Kenya. While in Tanzania I stayed at your properties and was simply delighted on every level.  I did fill out the feedback forms but wanted to take a minute to let you know in retrospect how much we (my elderly parents and I) enjoyed and appreciated our guide, Masaa.

Masaa was a superb guide.  His knowledge of, well, EVERYTHING, was amazing.  He could tell us so much about every single animal (from the anecdotal to the highly scientific, it was like living National Geographic!), about the environment and land, about the history of Tanzania, about the current politics, and on to world affairs, he even quoted Shakespeare at one point but also sang a Karen Carpenter song with me (at the rim of Ngorongoro: "Top of the World").  We loved that he told us right at the start that we could ask him absolutely anything...so we did!  He was endlessly patient and happy to answer, even quite personal questions about his life, family and culture. And of course he helped us to see so much wildlife that would have been lost to us!  What is even more remarkable about Masaa is that he is not only a superb guide, but he is an exemplary human being.  His respect for the land, the animals, and for us, was palpable.  He was so incredibly kind and
thoughtful ALL OF THE TIME, we felt so incredibly lucky to share our African experience with him and to learn about him and see the world through his eyes.  My mom is not agile and every single time we stopped he was right there helping here in and out of the vehicle; my dad either cannot hear properly or is not always a good listener (we're not sure...) and oftentimes Masaa would explain something and then my dad would ask something suggesting he caught none of it and Masaa would not miss a beat, would happily say it all again.  And his sense of humor is excellent, which was good because we love to laugh.  Masaa's english is also exceptional...he speaks clearly and is easy to understand and his vocabulary is enormous for anyone’s first language, let alone their second!

In general I was incredibly impressed with our Nomad experiences. Everything was truly first-class all the way and it is obvious that the company culture is about attention to detail, providing  a great experience in every way, taking care of the employees and giving back to the community. The care they take to ensure that guests' needs are met or exceeded is astonishing.

Finney, October 2018

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

Kiba Point Camp is an incomparable combination of location, facilities and personnel that is hard to beat in Africa.

There are only four bungalows in this camp for groups which guarantees a small, intimate group experience. Spending days with Camp Manager/Guide extraordinaire, Promise, is a gift of personal warmth, unlimited knowledge and a desire to always enhance the safari experience with stories and background information that is both interesting and personal. He is one of those people that has personal charisma and leaves you feeling that he has a genuine interest in you as a person, not just a client. His support staff all follow in his footsteps serving outstanding meals and seeing to all the needs of their visitors. 

In reference to Africa, "unforgettable" is an often overused descriptor. However, for me, the overall engulfing experience of visiting Kiba Point Camp was and will remain unforgettable.

Kiba Point Selous, September 2018

Kiba Point

Review Person Quote Icon

Well done on offering such an extraordinary product to the tourism industry of Africa and the world a large!

I have had the good fortune to have been coming to Greystoke Mahale since the 1990’s. My last visit was 2 years ago and this camp remains one of my top five most favourite camps and areas on the planet. I doubted Mahale could ever be as good as my last visit, however I was pleasantly surprised to see it managed to surpass that stay! 

Your management couple in Barbara and Fabio are among the most efficient, genuine friendly, informative and fun couples to be around! Mahale operated smoothly and happy throughout our entire stay! The guides in Butati and Matheus are extremely knowledgeable in all things Chimp as well as the vegetation and bird life in the forest and out on the Lake. In the forest, they were always there to offer a helping hand to those guests that needed it and to carry sticks, back packs, extra cameras etc. when we were with the chimps. The rest of the staff were so very gracious and accommodating to our every need throughout the stay. The food was exceptional! The menus innovative and a welcome change to other safari camps. 

There was not a single thing that went wrong during our four night stay, everything worked; the boats, early morning coffee so timely one could set a watch by it! The camp has retained its tasteful, simplistic charm, despite offering all the comforts one could wish for. Going out on the Lake each day is an added highlight. Greystoke Mahale definitely ranks as one of the finest places one could visit on the planet thanks to the Chimp interaction, the untainted forest and lake and the exceptional management abilities of Barbara and Fabio and their brilliant staff. Well done on offering such an extraordinary product to the tourism industry of Africa and the world a large!

Garth Thomson, Top Safari Guide , August 2018

Greystoke Mahale

Load more