Guest Feedback

What our guests say about us.

Review Person Quote Icon

Magical Weekend

We received a very warm welcome and had a very comfortable stay in beautiful rooms with a view of the river, ate delicious meals, were treated to fantastic game drives with a very knowledgable guide, had a sunset boat safari and saw countless hippos, crocodiles and a breathtaking sunset, took a dip in the hotsprings and did a very informative walking safari followed by a delicious breakfast at the lake. It was magical to be in such unspoiled nature. I was also treated to an extremely relaxing massage. Special thanks to Hanza, Godfrey, Bernie, the two Sarahs and the rest of the team for an unforgettable stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Stash, September 2021

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Unique, intimate way to experience the Tarangire

This place is incredible! Such a unique way to experience the Tarangerie. From the moment you arrive you know you are in for a very special experience. An amazing staff greets you and with only a handful of rooms it feels so private and intimate. Nomads guides are some of the best we've experienced. So friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are beautifully appointed and so comfortable but a highlight has got to be the food. Everything was so fresh and delicious. It is obvious Joe and his team take a lot of pride in the job they do. The service is top notch. We have told all our friends since we've been back that if they want the best possible safari experience to go with Nomad.

Tammera, September 2021

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Special in Every Way!

August 2021 our party of 8 went on a Safari in Tanzania. My daughter and I spent 3 nights in Lamai Serengeti. From the moment we drove to Lamai Serengeti every interaction with Staff in camp or on a safari with one of the talented guides, we were impressed with their surprises. They made every effort to make sure we were happy and they made every dining event and beautiful gala. From folding napkins to resemble animals to spotting wildlife with those eagle eye, I had the best vacation I have ever had. The food was excellent and our room was spotless and relaxing . I would highly recommend Nomad Tanzania to be your host and Lamai Serengeti for your accommodations. Their experience and hospitality were awesome.

Mike , September 2021

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Brilliant camp in Ruaha National Park

Nomad's Kigelia camp was brilliant and well located within the Ruaha National Park (about an hour's drive from the airstrip - allows safaris to and from camp!). The camp is well established and the team are very knowledgeable and have your every interest at heart. Everyone we met was very welcoming - they really made the stay in the camp very special. Every little detail had been thought about in the tent (a proper and very comfortable bed, hot water bottles were placed in bed as part of the turn down service, a hot thermos was available in the evening, plenty of towels, bucket showers were filled promptly on request and plenty of deet and eco-friendly toiletries were supplied). Yes, the tent was simple, but it had absolutely everything you would need for a safari. There is no wifi in the tent, but there is a large undercover wifi area located by the main mess area (very good wifi speed). The food at the camp was great (very hearty and plenty of it - the lunch time salads were delicious). The cakes at tea time were yummy! Nomad kindly provided us with a 'flight pack' - a tasty selection of goodies for our journey pack to Dar El Salaam. We really enjoyed pre-dinner camp fire drinks with the manager, Ken, and other guests. The stars were just incredible (a real highlight). Our waiter, Joseph, was always on hand to top up drinks and tend to our requests. The bar was very well stocked (delicious pale rose) and we really enjoyed chilling out by the bar in the very comfortable and cosy main mess area. The camp's security guard, Mr P, was a safe pair of hands for walking back to the tent. Safari was incredible - our guide Raj was very knowledgeable and made sure we visited as much of the park as possible. Unlike many other national parks, Ruaha allows night time safaris (a park ranger is required to join the safari) - if you get the opportunity then you must do this, it was truly exceptional and we did see lots of nocturnal animals and a leopard! We also did a walking safari (again supported by a park ranger) and we did drive safaris. The breakfasts on safari were very good (french toast on one morning!). Ruaha is an incredibly beautiful national park and much quieter than the likes of the Serengeti. You really feel like you are on a private safari the whole time.

Charlotte, September 2021

Kigelia Ruaha

Review Person Quote Icon

Magical start at Kuro Tarangire!!

Kuro was such a magical start to our Tanzanian adventure! We arrived in Arusha the night before and were picked up by our guide Kakae (Wilfred) the next morning. He is one of the kindest, most knowledgeable, funniest people we’ve met and it was such a pleasure to spend 9 days with him. Traveling were my wife and I and our 2 kids ages 13 and 15. Kakae made it so fun for everyone, had all of us thoroughly engaged, and taught us sooo much. The drive to the lodge is awesome and once you get there, the staff are so nice and make everything easy and comfortable. Most pictures I saw before really didn’t do justice to how amazing this place was! It is perfect rustic charm and elegance. Comfortable and immerses you in Tarangire. We had a cocktail by a fire pit before they led us down a lantern-lit path to what we termed ‘dinner with lions!’ They were roaring a few hundred meters away throughout our meal. Initially, it was rather intense, but you could tell by how calm the staff were that this was normal, and we quickly learned to relax and trust them. The food is superb and bountiful. We loved the bucket showers and open feel of everything. These were our first game drives and we were blown away. Up close encounters with a cheetah on the hunt with her 3 cubs. Dozens, if not hundreds, of elephants including a close encounter with a large bull in must (male equivalent of heat from my understanding). So many birds, giraffes, zebras, baboons, and buffalo. The night game drive was a highly-recommended highlight! We saw porcupine, a leopard on the prowl, bush babies (monkeys), a serval cat, amongst others. The evening hike was also awesome with a ‘near enough!’ encounter with 4 hyenas and a not too distant herd of Buffalo. The Covid precautions were exemplary and we felt so safe the entire time. 2 nights was not enough but next stop was Entamanu Ngorongoro!

BenP, August 2021

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

Seriously, traveling with Nomad was the most wonderful experience of all of our travels, ever!

Selous was SO amazing!  Hard to believe that it was our ‘back up’ option to Mahale. Teo was a great guide. The lodge itself was a contender for our favorite. The staff was beyond superb,  meals were wonderful, views stunning, nighttime sounds hilarious/exciting/exhilarating. The rooms were out of a storybook or Disneyland and the whole experience was magical.  The river Safari and flycamping were fantastic. As I wrote earlier, the level of staff satisfaction of working for Nomad and the positive energy that radiated from everyone, truly stood out as one of the greatest aspects of the trip! Seriously, traveling with Nomad was the most wonderful experience of all of our travels, ever! 

Ben, August 2021

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Tanzania Safari

Facility was amazing. Great views and very attentive staff. Wonderful birthday celebration for our daughter - really thought of every detail. Site manager, Jonathan, made everything happen effortlessly. Morning coffee through the dumbwaiter made early morning wake up call for safari drives actually pleasant. Hot water bottles in the bed after a delicious dinner and after-dinner drinks made for a cozy sleep. Incredibly private but a little far from the entrance to the park itself. Snacks in the car and lunches in the park were well thought out and plentiful. Sundowner bush bar great fun!

Ann, August 2021

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Review Person Quote Icon

STAY HERE!!!!

I had such a wonderful time at Lamai. I was traveling by myself and felt so welcome and at home the entire stay. The managers especially were just great, as was my guide, who was super knowledgeable and skilled at spotting animals in the bush, but also not overly chatty, which I appreciated! The room was just perfect, the massage I got was excellent and the food was delicious. I'd like to especially call out Milly for her excellent pre-departure service! She helped me arrange everything very last minute, including a number of tricky flights and a covid-19 test to get back to the US. Milly and the team are really top of the line and I definitely will stay at Nomad again when I'm back in Tanzania.

Rachel, August 2021

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

Kuro Camp is Magical

The facilities, staff and food at the Nomad Kuro Camp were incredible and provided the most incredible safari experience. Joe the camp manager and his entire staff do everything to make you feel at home and really build on the entire safari experience. Our accommodations in the family tent were incredible with amazing views of elephants while sitting on our porch drinking a gin and tonic. Every member of the staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed to maximize our enjoyment of the time we spent with them. The food was delicious with amazing choices that even got my picky eater children to try and enjoy things they had never eaten before. Gabriel our tour guide and driver put us in the best possible position on every game drive and possesses a level of knowledge of the wildlife that astounded every member of my family. His warm personality and utmost professionalism continued to impress us each day and we were sad to leave his guidance. I can not say enough good things about the Nomad Kuro Camp and their incredible staff. It was truly such a highlight for our safari.

Malone, July 2021

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

A remote safari, the real Africa!

What an amazing place. Very small, remote, tented camp with fantastic staff and the Katavi park to explore. A remote safari, the real Africa. Many thanks to Julien our host, John our guide, and the camp staff that pampered us in the bush. Highly recommended

Harletta, July 2021

Chada Katavi

Review Person Quote Icon

Once in a lifetime experience

Imagine trekking for chimps in the morning, afternoon on Lake Tanganika, cocktails fireside, and fabulous food. That is Greystoke Mahale. Many thanks to Fabio and Babs, Gabriel and the staff at camp. The trekkers who followed the chimps for us, and Mwiga our awesome guide. An adventure we will never forget. Our heartfelt thanks.

HLT, July 2021

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

Sands Rivers - June 2021

We came for a more remote safari experience (had done the ‘northern circuit’ in 2016) and wanted a highly rated lodge to make the Selous visit truly memorable. We were certainly not disappointed. I will start with commenting on the lodge and after Selous itself. The lodge is impressive – right on the Rufiji River and is quite traditional in its lodge style. The rooms are ‘open style’ and it took a bit of getting used to as bats do fly in and can crawl across the floor – it is certainly fun! Each room has a view of the river and the beds are huge and well protected with mosquito nets. The staff are a delight and we were looked after so well and it was like a small family community. A special thanks to the Bernadette and Hamza for such professional management and to the ‘team’ of Saidie, Essow (sp?), Sara and Reggie for looking after us so well; you were all delightful. The food was delicious – simple and with no choice but we loved every single dish put in front of us. Regarding Selous I would have to say that out of the 5 National Parks, game reserves I have visited in Tanzania, Selous is my favourite. The scenery, diversity of eco-systems is simply breath-taking. We were so very lucky to have had Ernest as our guide over the 4 days. Ernest has 15 years’ experience and his ability to spot wildlife, explain every detail, about flora and fauna was so impressive. He was a total gentleman, a delight to be with and worked so well with Ranger Fabian during the walking safari and airstrip transfers. We were totally spoilt by Ernest in the way he organized bush-breakfasts, sundowners and special surprises during the game drives. Thanks for taking us to the hot-springs, which was another unforgettable experience. We had great fun during the boat safari and as an avid fisherman I thoroughly enjoyed putting my travel rods to use fishing for tiger fish and catfish – the lodge does supply rods and tackle and will cook the delicious golden catfish for you which is highly recommended.  My wife and I had the most fantastic experience at Sands Rivers, we were so sad to leave the lodge, our new friends and Selous. We will have to return one day for sure.

91G, June 2021

Sand Rivers Selous

Review Person Quote Icon

Great Camp, Great Experience!

The staff! Very attentive to and all our needs as guests. I enjoyed a very pleasant stay at Nomad, it is hospitable and professional. Everyone made me feel welcome, safe comfortable and had so much fun. I can honestly say I can’t think of anything that needs improving. Great camp, Great experience, I will recommend Nomad to my friends. Thank you!

Kimberley, June 2021

Chada Katavi

Review Person Quote Icon

Magical visit

Our first days in the bush were magical thanks to the amazing staff, beautiful accommodations and delicious food. Joe and his staff went above and beyond in every way possible, surprising us with a candlelight dinner under African skies after an afternoon game drive, lovely conversations with staff and learning about the constellations from Joe. Our tent was beautifully decorated with a great view. We were spoiled with coffee and tea service every morning, hot water bottles to warm the sheets at night and meals that were five star restaurant worthy. Our nomad game driver and guide Joe (another Joe) was very knowledgable and easy going. We saw hundreds of elephants, many giraffe, birds, cheetah, lioness, impala and more. Simply amazing! In all aspects Kuro Camp exceeded our expectations ten fold. Truly a magical experience and one we will never forget.

MT, June 2021

Kuro Tarangire

Review Person Quote Icon

The Ultimate Luxury Safari Lodge

Lamai was perfection. The lodge itself is stunning- from the stunning rooms overlooking the Serengeti, al fresco dining, the pool, to the location. You are set right within lion country which allows you to hear lions roar all night and about 2 minutes into any game drive you are bound to see one. Lamai is exactly what I envisioned when I thought of a luxury safari. What truly sets Lamai apart is the staff and the guides. Eric was a fantastic host- we looked forward to hearing all of his stories from other lodges each night at dinner. Noel was an amazing guide and helped us to see the great migration out of its peak season, tons of lion (and leopard) cubs and just about everything else on our must see list. It was truly a once in a lifetime experience. If we return to the Serengeti we would absolutely stay at Lamai.

SM, May 2021

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

If Heaven was on Earth it would be Greystoke

This is a delayed review and not a covid experience but worthwhile to share. Greystoke is truly paradise on earth. I am a chimp lover and my husband prefers lions. However, we both agree that there is no place in the world like Greystoke. Getting here is a trek, but I think it only adds to the experience and is worth every minute. The location is incredible- you truly feel like you are in your own remote part of the world. I was concerned about the open air rooms and for the rustic ness of the lodge and it was amazing. Being that the lodge is so small, it feels a bit like an adult summer camp in that you get to know all of the guests and all get to participate in amazing activities. The prime activity- of course- is the chimp trekking. We saw chimps everyday and it was literally a dream come true. As with other Nomad properties the staff make your trip- our guide Butati is the best. He is so fun and knowledgeable both with the chimps and in the water. Definitely take the boat to swim- it’s so worth it! Julian, our camp host, was phenomenal. He was hysterical and made us all feel so welcome and truly fostered such a nice community between us all. If we are able to safari with nomad again we will go wherever Julian is!

Stacey, May 2021

Greystoke Mahale

Review Person Quote Icon

Our trip of a lifetime!

The setting at Lamai is phenomenal. The camp (and I should not call this beautiful area a camp) is perfectly situated. You will see wildlife from the camp. You are just minutes from being "in the bush". The staff is beyond excellent. Without being overwhelming they provided superb service. The GUIDES we terrific. Example: On one (1) of our days, we actually hunted with a leopard. We found and followed her at about ten meters behind, while she was hunting. This hunt was unsuccessful for her but the experience of a lifetime for us.

Sally, March 2021

Lamai Serengeti

Review Person Quote Icon

A Magical and Uncrowded Bucket List Trip!

If going on an African safari is on your bucket list, now is the most incredible time to experience it before the crowds return when Covid is finally over. Our safari experience, organized flawlessly through Nomad Tanzania, was a dream trip of a lifetime. We stayed three nights at the mobile Serengeti Safari Camp and were so impressed with the spacious, comfortable and upscale tented accomodations as well as the level of service from every one of the staff members. They are also practicing all Covid safety protocal and I never felt uncomfortable or unsafe. Our safari guide, Emmanuel, was incredible! He worked so hard every day to find unbelievable wildlife sightings - and most of the time, we were the only vehicle in sight. He had a wealth of information regarding every animal and bird we encountered, but he read our personalities to know when we preferred quiet time - it was like we were instant friends as soon as we met him. The number of different animals and birds we saw was unbelievable. On our last day, I was very satisfied that I had seen four out of the big five, as the elusive leopard is very difficult to find - then the last 20 minutes of our last game drive, Emmanuel found a leopard and her cub sitting under a tree! What an amazing end to a fantastic safari! The Serengeti Safari camp was situated in a perfect location to experience so much wildlife in this area and to sit by their outdoor fireplace each night with a gin and tonic or glass of wine was the perfect end to each day. I had researched and gotten quotes from so many safari outfitters and I am so happy that I chose Nomad Tanzania for our arrangements (I worked with Cathy Heath who was very thorough). They truly are a first class operation and even coordinated every aspect of getting our necessary Covid tests in Tanzania to board the KLM flight home. They had customer service agents meet us at the airport in Dar and they did not leave our side until both our PCR and rapid tests were completed and approved. I strongly recommend Nomad Tanzania and the Serengeti Safari Camp for a trip of a lifetime experience!

Michelle, February 2021

Serengeti Safari Camp

Review Person Quote Icon

Felt in love with this place

We had a 2 nihts stay in this lodge and it was something I will remember. The rooms of the private camp are just stunning. All the staff is very attentionnate and carying. Perfectly trained to anticipate and reach all our expectations. I can only recommand this choice. Special thank you to the massai team during the walking safari which was a great addition to the stay.

Scenic, February 2021

Entamanu Private

Review Person Quote Icon

We Loved our Stay

Absolutely fantastic, We had the most wonderful weekend, everything and everyone was great. The camp looked fantastic, everything clean and fresh and the food was really good, one of the best lamb dishes I’ve ever had. Mollel, the camp manager and the team were superstars. Rajab, a perfect guide and James, loved finding all birds with him, we saw enough animals (first time to see an elephant, a giraffe etc outside of the television) to be blown away. All fabulous. Thanks so much and huge thanks to the boys for looking after us so well. We loved our stay.

Eliza, February 2021

Kuro Tarangire

Load more